Survivor — play by play

Rafe won immunity and I’m glad. I was pulling for him or Danni.

7:55 pm: Who is Stephenie kidding? She thinks she and Rafe have played a similar game?

7:57 pm: I am so disappointed they’ve taken the chicken off the fire. They should be ashamed. Good fo you Rafe, not eating the chicken. Lydia, of everyone, I thought you of all the members would respect the tradition of the sacrifice. (there was a Mayan ritual performed at the temple and part of that ritual was the sacrifice of a live chicken. the natives told them they could NOT eat the chicken)

8:00 pm: First tribal council and Rafe has immunity. Lydia was lobbying to be kept. Stephenie thinks she’s safe. Will Rafe keep his word and take Danni with him?

Judd was rolling his eyes when Lydia was talking about eating the chicken. You know what, you shouldn’t have eaten the chicken. Such a total lack of respect.

8:05 pm: Goodbye Lydia. Of course, It hink they should’ve gotten rid of Stephenie first…she’s a much bigger physical threat–but at least now it’s a competition for the final two. Please by all that holy to survivor, Please let it be Danni and Rafe.

8:31 pm: Hahahaha. Stephie couldn’t hold it together to win the immunity idol. I was really glad to see Danni win it. And then Rafe. My darling, good, sweet, Rafe…he stepped up and released Danni of any promise to take him to the final two. Such a sweet gesture–possibly a stupid one–but sweet nonetheless. He’s probably the most honest, straightforward, LIKEABLE player Survivor has had in a long time.

Now it’s up to Danni. Who’s she gonna take? To win, she should take Stephenie…but because of honor, she should take Rafe. Such a tough decision. I’d hate to be her.

8:44 pm: Wow. I really thought she’d take Rafe. I know she wouldn’t have won against him but I thought she’d “colby up” and take the person she promised–though, I have to say, releasing her of that promise was almost as manipulative as Stephenie’s breakdown after the immunity challenge. (I know she was tired. I know her back was hurting. I know she was disappointed. But Stephenie doesn’t do anything that doesn’t help her toward a goal.) If Stephenie wins, I’ll be surprised and VERY disappointed.

Rafe vows he’ll vote for Stephenie because he thought Danni was the one person who would take him to the final two. Hmm, methinks you shouldn’t have released her from her promise, then Rafey boy. That left a sour taste in my mouth. Honestly, I hate people who say one thing and mean another. If you wanted Danni to take you to the final two, you should’ve held her to her promise. Guess what? She would’ve taken you.

9:15 pm: Wow. Dudd is out of his mind. He actually asked Danni if she had ever ice skated or roller bladed in her life. At first, I thought he was being witty. (I should’ve known better, I know) When Danni answered yes, he said, “That seemed to be your strategy–to skate on by in this game.”

Whoa dude. Seriously, Danni kicked your ass at every turn. Don’t be a Sammy Sore-Loser because she beat you.

And I was waiting on it–his little hissy fit with Stephenie. You know, I didn’t want her there either, but frankly, the only reason Dudd is pissed is because he didn’t play the game.

OUTWIT, OUTLAST, OUTPLAY.

Dudd, none of those words describe you. (especially the wit part)

I’m afraid to admit it, but Steph might have a good chance at winning the money. I really hope she hasn’t managed to manipulate the jury. It’s Outwit, Outlast, Outplay–not MANIPULATE, MANIPULATE, AND WHINE.

9:28 PM: The Survivor Gods have made me very happy! Congrats to Danni Boatright!

This is one season I’m definitely not disappointed in!

A time to part-ay

So, we had our office party Thursday night.

Heavy appetizers, cash bar, free soft drinks, and a band.

The band was okay. Last year’s was better. For some reason, this year they thought it was a good idea to start off slowly–Kenny G. slowly.

Gimme a break.

So, we sat through an hour of that crap and when people started leaving the band got a clue. So they livened it up a bit by putting me in a time machine and catapulting me back to 1990 with the Electric Slide. (yes, I know, technically it took me back circa ’76, but I didn’t actually start doing the Electric Slide until I started bar hopping. Work with me.)

Look. I have proof. (I can’t believe I’m posting these)
The party was fun, once we got it going. I have to say, it’s a sad state of affairs when the accounting group is the life of the party. Here I am with my friend (and, technically, my boss and her hubby and my hubby.
From Left to Right: Me, Randy, Allison, and my hubby-Mark

Happily Ever After.
The End.

Gut Reaction

I love music. I love everything from the concept of composing a new song, writing lyrics, hearing the first melodies, listening to the finished product.

I can’t do any of that stuff, but I love the idea of music.

I also love it when I have a physical reaction to a song. Sometimes it’s a lyric that makes my heart skip a beat like, It’s Been Awhile, by Staind. Or just the melody of a song that grabs you like, The Mummer’s Dance, by Loreena McKennitt.

And now, I can add James Blunt to my list. His song You’re Beautiful affects me like no song has in a LONG time. It’s haunting and sad and beautiful. My heart literally races when I hear the first notes. And then his voice: wow. It’s an odd mixture of echo and melody. At first, I thought I would hate his voice, but then it just washed through me and I found myself drowning in it.

So, yesterday I listened to his album, Back to Bedlam and now I’m completely hooked.

I listen to music when I write. I form a soundtrack in my head that is appropriate for the story and I play those songs over and over. For my current novel, it’s been country music. But, I’m afraid Mr. Blunt has found his way into my head and into my book. There is another song on the album, Goodbye Lover, which is very appropriate for an upcoming scene.

Now, I just hope Mr. Mel sees this and takes note. Christmas isn’t very far away.

p.s. Mr. Mel, if you’re reading this–UPDATE YOUR BLOG.

Gut Reaction

I love music. I love everything from the concept of composing a new song, writing lyrics, hearing the first melodies, listening to the finished product.

I can’t do any of that stuff, but I love the idea of music.

I also love it when I have a physical reaction to a song. Sometimes it’s a lyric that makes my heart skip a beat like, It’s Been Awhile, by Staind. Or just the melody of a song that grabs you like, The Mummer’s Dance, by Loreena McKennitt.

And now, I can add James Blunt to my list. His song You’re Beautiful affects me like no song has in a LONG time. It’s haunting and sad and beautiful. My heart literally races when I hear the first notes. And then his voice: wow. It’s an odd mixture of echo and melody. At first, I thought I would hate his voice, but then it just washed through me and I found myself drowning in it.

So, yesterday I listened to his album, Back to Bedlam and now I’m completely hooked.

I listen to music when I write. I form a soundtrack in my head that is appropriate for the story and I play those songs over and over. For my current novel, it’s been country music. But, I’m afraid Mr. Blunt has found his way into my head and into my book. There is another song on the album, Goodbye Lover, which is very appropriate for an upcoming scene.

Now, I just hope Mr. Mel sees this and takes note. Christmas isn’t very far away.

p.s. Mr. Mel, if you’re reading this–UPDATE YOUR BLOG.

There are no words. Well, I take that back; there’s one word: Mullet

I’m sure many of you have been to sites like Mullets Galore or Rate My Mullet and laughed your non-mullet wearing ass off at the pictures. Many of us laugh because we once broke the cardinal rule and wore a mullet ourselves. (Yes, I had a mullet. I was in Jr. High. I thought it was cool. I was wrong.)

So, today, the fam and I are in Wal-Mart (hmmm, mullet, walmart, Mississippi–y’all are all shocked aren’t ya) buying up the colored christmas lights in hopes to rival The Griswalds this year. We have a basket full of goodies and we decide to go to the toy section when all of a sudden, this man is in front of me.

And my mouth drops open.

I’m staring.

Disbelief is coursing through me.

Did he mean to do that with his hair? Did his clippers give out on him mid haircut? Should I show him where the clippers are? What color is that, exactly? Is it supposed to be blonde? Cuz it’s more like gold straw. Could he be Rumplestiltskin? No. surely not.

And my husband, who is a quick thinker walked behind dude and snapped a picture with his phone:

When Bad Hair Gets Worse

There are no words. Well, I take that back; there’s one word: Mullet

I’m sure many of you have been to sites like Mullets Galore or Rate My Mullet and laughed your non-mullet wearing ass off at the pictures. Many of us laugh because we once broke the cardinal rule and wore a mullet ourselves. (Yes, I had a mullet. I was in Jr. High. I thought it was cool. I was wrong.)

So, today, the fam and I are in Wal-Mart (hmmm, mullet, walmart, Mississippi–y’all are all shocked aren’t ya) buying up the colored christmas lights in hopes to rival The Griswalds this year. We have a basket full of goodies and we decide to go to the toy section when all of a sudden, this man is in front of me.

And my mouth drops open.

I’m staring.

Disbelief is coursing through me.

Did he mean to do that with his hair? Did his clippers give out on him mid haircut? Should I show him where the clippers are? What color is that, exactly? Is it supposed to be blonde? Cuz it’s more like gold straw. Could he be Rumplestiltskin? No. surely not.

And my husband, who is a quick thinker walked behind dude and snapped a picture with his phone:

When Bad Hair Gets Worse