Mrs. Robinson…???

Everyone knows how much I love Maria Geraci. I mean, I practically worship at the altar of Maria. But, I’m beginning to wonder if this was a smart move.

What? say you…

Well, Maria Geraci called me 10 minutes ago. She’s still on the phone, as a matter of fact…but NOT with me…. Nope, she’s talking to Mr. Mel.

What is wrong with this picture? See they are getting together to try to torment me. Apparently, Maria Geraci has been helping Mr. Mel with my Christmas present. And now, they can both tease me with their silence.

They do know how I’m haunted by the quiet. Especially from these two. They are NEVER quiet. Ever.

They are still talking. Should I be worried?

He has always had a thing for older women…

Thinking Double

I told you guys yesterday about the erotic romance I’m working on with my CP and good buddy, Maria. The tentative title is The Garden of Pleasure. Maria has taken great joy in calling it The GOP just to make my eye twitch.

I love Maria Geraci. There are only so many people who I will allow to make my eye twitch and she’s one of them. Of course, I’ve decided to retitle our book to Pleasure Garden so I can call it PG and tell her that she needs to write hotter love scenes so we can get at least a PG13 rating. I mean, this is Erotic Romance. Sheesh.

(hah. like she needs to spice anything up. that mamacita can burn up the page with some steamy sexcapades)

Anyway, the point of my blog (as if I really ever have a point…I do ramble a lot) is I’m now actively working on two different books. I’ve never done the multi-writing thing before.

It’s kinda hard to shut up one character and then turn to another one and say, “Okay, it’s your turn.” Sometimes, the one character won’t shut up! And other times the other dude says, “Um, I feel neglected, so I think I’ll play hard to get.”

And then SOMETIMES nobody wants to come out and play.

Grrr. Stubborn-assed characters. Who do they think they are? Me?

A good thing I’ve discovered from this multi-writing thing is that it keeps me thinking and plotting and dreaming about my stories constantly. And I find that I’m glad to have something to work on. When I’m having difficulty with one story, I close it and open the other one, just to see what happens. And usually, I get a page or two out without too much self-torture.

I never thought I’d be a multi-book-at-one-time writer. I think I’m gonna like it though.

Thinking Double

I told you guys yesterday about the erotic romance I’m working on with my CP and good buddy, Maria. The tentative title is The Garden of Pleasure. Maria has taken great joy in calling it The GOP just to make my eye twitch.

I love Maria Geraci. There are only so many people who I will allow to make my eye twitch and she’s one of them. Of course, I’ve decided to retitle our book to Pleasure Garden so I can call it PG and tell her that she needs to write hotter love scenes so we can get at least a PG13 rating. I mean, this is Erotic Romance. Sheesh.

(hah. like she needs to spice anything up. that mamacita can burn up the page with some steamy sexcapades)

Anyway, the point of my blog (as if I really ever have a point…I do ramble a lot) is I’m now actively working on two different books. I’ve never done the multi-writing thing before.

It’s kinda hard to shut up one character and then turn to another one and say, “Okay, it’s your turn.” Sometimes, the one character won’t shut up! And other times the other dude says, “Um, I feel neglected, so I think I’ll play hard to get.”

And then SOMETIMES nobody wants to come out and play.

Grrr. Stubborn-assed characters. Who do they think they are? Me?

A good thing I’ve discovered from this multi-writing thing is that it keeps me thinking and plotting and dreaming about my stories constantly. And I find that I’m glad to have something to work on. When I’m having difficulty with one story, I close it and open the other one, just to see what happens. And usually, I get a page or two out without too much self-torture.

I never thought I’d be a multi-book-at-one-time writer. I think I’m gonna like it though.

Holiday Giggles

This cracked me up. Go Santa.

So, everyone who reads my blog knows that my CP Maria and 3 other friends of mine from my RWA Online Chapter are still competing in the American Title II contest. And every one of you have emailed your vote, right? If not, DO IT NOW or I’ll send The Claw after you.

What’s been going on with everyone? I’ve had a successful writing weekend. I finished a chapter on my Erotic Romance that I’m co-writing with Maria. It’s hot. Seriously hot. Our hero is a man’s man with a brain. When he slammed the bad guy against the wall and threatened to kill him if dude ever came near the heroine again, I thought I’d swoon.

I got another rejection last week on Leave the Light On. Don’t these guys know what they’re passing up??? Sheesh. Don’t they realize they’re supposed to be offering me the world sliced up on a platter made of platinum the moment they read my name?

Lots of good things have been going on in my RWA chapter. We’ve had some new sales and some agent and editor requests. That’s so exciting…Christmas come early!

Anybody got any good news to share?

Holiday Giggles

This cracked me up. Go Santa.

So, everyone who reads my blog knows that my CP Maria and 3 other friends of mine from my RWA Online Chapter are still competing in the American Title II contest. And every one of you have emailed your vote, right? If not, DO IT NOW or I’ll send The Claw after you.

What’s been going on with everyone? I’ve had a successful writing weekend. I finished a chapter on my Erotic Romance that I’m co-writing with Maria. It’s hot. Seriously hot. Our hero is a man’s man with a brain. When he slammed the bad guy against the wall and threatened to kill him if dude ever came near the heroine again, I thought I’d swoon.

I got another rejection last week on Leave the Light On. Don’t these guys know what they’re passing up??? Sheesh. Don’t they realize they’re supposed to be offering me the world sliced up on a platter made of platinum the moment they read my name?

Lots of good things have been going on in my RWA chapter. We’ve had some new sales and some agent and editor requests. That’s so exciting…Christmas come early!

Anybody got any good news to share?

American Title II; ROUND TWO!

I’d like to congratulate all the finalists who made it to Round Two of the American Title II contest!

RWA Online has 4 members who all made it to the next round! (My CP, Maria, is one of them! And of course she is, she has written a brilliant and engaging novel with a hero so sexy, I had a dream about him once…)

Gina Black
Maria Geraci
Debra Parmley
Michele Young

The next round of voting is based on the Heroine and Hero descriptions. So, check it out and go vote! American Title II–Round 2 contestants!

American Title II; ROUND TWO!

I’d like to congratulate all the finalists who made it to Round Two of the American Title II contest!

RWA Online has 4 members who all made it to the next round! (My CP, Maria, is one of them! And of course she is, she has written a brilliant and engaging novel with a hero so sexy, I had a dream about him once…)

Gina Black
Maria Geraci
Debra Parmley
Michele Young

The next round of voting is based on the Heroine and Hero descriptions. So, check it out and go vote! American Title II–Round 2 contestants!

Enough of the drama

Okay, I’m forcing myself to move on from the image of my son becoming a pavement pancake, so I thought I’d talk about something I love.

Something that will probably have some folks wanting to skewer me for blasphemy.

But it’s my blog, so Humph.

I love the commercializaiton of Christmas. I touched on this a bit in one of my comments on Michele’s blog, but I thought I’d give this a little more air time on my blog.

Sometimes I wish I was more like my friend Gina who is trying to get people back to the spirit of giving by blogging about different charities and encouraging folks to remember what the holiday is truly about.

But you know what? The holiday isn’t about giving to me. I give year ’round. It isn’t about religion to me. I’m spiritual but not religious. Sure Christmas is the cherry on top for christian religions, but what about the other religions who don’t celebrate Christ? They are still inundated with Christmas…so why shouldn’t they enjoy the time, too?

Growing up, Christmas was about the lights, the sounds, the colors, the music, the candy, cookies, food, gifts and being with family. And when you celebrate Christmas as a secular/commericalized holiday, then EVERYONE can be a part of it. I LOVE THAT. Part of my love for the glitz and glam of today’s Christmas probably stems from having grown up in Little Rock where part of our yearly tradition was going by The Osborne Home. (You won’t believe your eyes when you click that link)

Christmas is what you make of it. I have several Jewish friends who celebrate the holiday and make it about family and friends. I have Atheist friends who do the same. And I love it. I love that once a year, almost the entire world is spending time with friends and family… and that wouldn’t be true if it weren’t for the commericialization of Christmas.

Now, do I think the stores should put up Christmas decor next to the Halloween costumes? No. But I do see commercialization as a postive thing. It’s not about how much you spend or how much you go to the mall–it’s about having a fun and sparkly holiday with your families.

So, bring on the fake snow and the 20 foot blow up Santas. Show me the rainbow lights on the houses and the Santa Stops Here signs. Commercialize me, baby!

Terror

I almost witnessed my oldest son’s death last night.

Let me just say, just in case you weren’t already aware of this fact, this is NOT something a mother should ever experience.

But, thank God I was there.

I was dropping Rader off at basketball practice. We parked across the street from the gym. The street was busy and it was getting dark. Normally there is a cross walk where from the parking lot to the gym, but the city had repaved the roads this summer and apparently painting the crosswalk is way on their priority list. It won’t be after today.

So, we’re waiting for a break in traffic. A car stops for us and signals us across. We start walking–except for Ian who tears off in a run. I see a car coming on the other side because I’m tall enough and CAN see over the car. He doesn’t see it. Finally my mouth catches up to my brain and I yell IAN! and for the first time ever, he stopped. And the car stopped. Six inches from hitting my child.

That scene has played over and over in my mind since then. We had another talk about how to cross the street, etc. I think I was in so much shock that the gravity of the moment never caught up to me.

I don’t recommend this form of stress to anyone.

Survivor — play by play

Rafe won immunity and I’m glad. I was pulling for him or Danni.

7:55 pm: Who is Stephenie kidding? She thinks she and Rafe have played a similar game?

7:57 pm: I am so disappointed they’ve taken the chicken off the fire. They should be ashamed. Good fo you Rafe, not eating the chicken. Lydia, of everyone, I thought you of all the members would respect the tradition of the sacrifice. (there was a Mayan ritual performed at the temple and part of that ritual was the sacrifice of a live chicken. the natives told them they could NOT eat the chicken)

8:00 pm: First tribal council and Rafe has immunity. Lydia was lobbying to be kept. Stephenie thinks she’s safe. Will Rafe keep his word and take Danni with him?

Judd was rolling his eyes when Lydia was talking about eating the chicken. You know what, you shouldn’t have eaten the chicken. Such a total lack of respect.

8:05 pm: Goodbye Lydia. Of course, It hink they should’ve gotten rid of Stephenie first…she’s a much bigger physical threat–but at least now it’s a competition for the final two. Please by all that holy to survivor, Please let it be Danni and Rafe.

8:31 pm: Hahahaha. Stephie couldn’t hold it together to win the immunity idol. I was really glad to see Danni win it. And then Rafe. My darling, good, sweet, Rafe…he stepped up and released Danni of any promise to take him to the final two. Such a sweet gesture–possibly a stupid one–but sweet nonetheless. He’s probably the most honest, straightforward, LIKEABLE player Survivor has had in a long time.

Now it’s up to Danni. Who’s she gonna take? To win, she should take Stephenie…but because of honor, she should take Rafe. Such a tough decision. I’d hate to be her.

8:44 pm: Wow. I really thought she’d take Rafe. I know she wouldn’t have won against him but I thought she’d “colby up” and take the person she promised–though, I have to say, releasing her of that promise was almost as manipulative as Stephenie’s breakdown after the immunity challenge. (I know she was tired. I know her back was hurting. I know she was disappointed. But Stephenie doesn’t do anything that doesn’t help her toward a goal.) If Stephenie wins, I’ll be surprised and VERY disappointed.

Rafe vows he’ll vote for Stephenie because he thought Danni was the one person who would take him to the final two. Hmm, methinks you shouldn’t have released her from her promise, then Rafey boy. That left a sour taste in my mouth. Honestly, I hate people who say one thing and mean another. If you wanted Danni to take you to the final two, you should’ve held her to her promise. Guess what? She would’ve taken you.

9:15 pm: Wow. Dudd is out of his mind. He actually asked Danni if she had ever ice skated or roller bladed in her life. At first, I thought he was being witty. (I should’ve known better, I know) When Danni answered yes, he said, “That seemed to be your strategy–to skate on by in this game.”

Whoa dude. Seriously, Danni kicked your ass at every turn. Don’t be a Sammy Sore-Loser because she beat you.

And I was waiting on it–his little hissy fit with Stephenie. You know, I didn’t want her there either, but frankly, the only reason Dudd is pissed is because he didn’t play the game.

OUTWIT, OUTLAST, OUTPLAY.

Dudd, none of those words describe you. (especially the wit part)

I’m afraid to admit it, but Steph might have a good chance at winning the money. I really hope she hasn’t managed to manipulate the jury. It’s Outwit, Outlast, Outplay–not MANIPULATE, MANIPULATE, AND WHINE.

9:28 PM: The Survivor Gods have made me very happy! Congrats to Danni Boatright!

This is one season I’m definitely not disappointed in!