i don’t get it.

Okay, this probably should’ve been #1 on my list of things that bug me. (well, maybe #2. I really hate molestaches.)

Can somebody PLEASE explain to me the appeal of sagging?

Please? Because I just don’t get it. And I don’t think my difficulty grasping this fashion don’t has anything to do with my age or my skin color.

My senior year, the big thing was to shred or tear holes in your jeans and bleach the crap out of them. We did it. We wore them everywhere. And frankly, I’d probably wear them now (minus the bleaching)

But this sagging thing it just makes no sense to me.

The other day I saw a group of kids walking through my neighborhood. One kid’s pants fell to his ankles 3 times while walking. Now I’m aware that we’re pretty much already seeing your underwear when you have your pants buckled below your ass, but come on. Doesn’t it bother you at all when your pants fall down?????

It’s funny to watch these guys try to walk when they’re wearing these pants 10 sizes too big and they can’t even keep them buckled below their ass. They try to strut, but they have to keep their knees closed together as they walk, so they kinda look like they’re having a seizure as they mosey down the street.

I am curious, are there any women (or men) out there who find this sexy? What is so appealing about it? Am I alone in the fact that I JUST DON’T FREAKING UNDERSTAND????

I swore when I had kids I would not stop them from experimenting with their looks. They could dye their hair, pierce their ears, tongues, nose…whatever. They could wear skirts or parachute pants if they wanted. And I stand by that…except for this sagging thing. I have all but mandated that the pants have to be around the waist, period. I am trying not to make a big deal out of it, because as soon as you deny a kids something, that’s what they must do immediately.
Anyway, somebody please tell me what is so appealing about this fashion nightmare. I’d really like to understand.

things that bug me

Yo. ‘Sup? Anything goin’ on I need to know about?

No? Hmmm.

What am I going to blog about today? I have no idea. I think I’ll make a list.

Things that bug me.

  1. Men with mustaches. The 2 exceptions to this rule: Tom Selleck and Sam Elliot If you are not either one of those men, shave the fucking ‘stache. Now.
  2. Bowls left in the sink with either oatmeal or mac and cheese residue. You know, it takes an extra 5 seconds to run water in the bowl. Just do it.
  3. The sound of clipping toenails.
  4. People who clip their toenails anywhere in the house other than the bathroom over the trashcan.
  5. People who clip their toenails at work (it has happened. Trust me.) That is a fireable offense.
  6. Too much cologne. Men and women both fall victim to this travesty. If I can follow your trail of stink, you’re wearing too much. If I can come into the office 5 minutes after you’ve left and identify you by smell, you’re wearing too much.
  7. Burnt coffee.
  8. Frenemies. You’re either my friend, or you’re not.
  9. The size of my ass. Why can’t I just dream it away? Why must I go back to the gym? It’s not fair.
  10. When the toilet paper is facing the wrong way. It should always be under. But don’t worry, I’ll fix it for you when I’m visiting…
  11. People who have no sense of humor.

What bugs you?

mad men–can’t look away

Mad Men is what the advertising men of Madison Avenue were called bacin the 60s.

Maria called me a couple of Saturdays ago and told me I had to watch Season 1 of Mad Men On Demand so that we could watch Season 2 together when it starts at the end of July.

It sounded interesting. Hot Ad execs from the early 60s smoking, drinking and screwing their way to the top. What’s not to love, right?

I’ll admit that I had a real hard time watching the show, but at the same time, I couldn’t look away. I have no idea who to root for, which is a problem for me. I want a hero to follow, and honestly, the guy they have as the hero, is just not very heroic–yet. We finally got to the meat of his backstory and now, after 13 shows, I’m starting to symapathize with him. It was almost too little too late, though. It’s like I’m liking the characters I’m supposed to hate and hating the characters I’m supposed to like!

As writers, it is beat into our brains not to give too much backstory away up front. But I tell ya, they would’ve done well to give us a little bit of Don Draper’s backstory before the 5th show. By that point, I had no sympathy for him whatsoever. He’s a male-slag. Okay, he has standards. Occasionally he turns down a girl and goes home to his wife.. But usually no.

It’s not the cheating that bothers me in the show, it’s the lack of set up. I know that part of it is the time period. It’s the early 60s and women are treated as servants and whores. That’s it. If they don’t put out and don’t ask how high when the man says jump, then they’re fired or tossed aside. And the women don’t blink an eye at this. Which bothers me as a woman (yes, different times, I know. But there is a reason I was not allowed to live back then. It would NOT have been pretty) Anyway, if there had been some set up for the bed-hopping, I could live with it. There’s a lot of bed-hopping in today’s shows, and usually, even if I don’t like the character, I at least ‘understand’ the motivation behind the slagging around.

But in Mad Men, they just do it because it’s what men do. Um. Yeah. That is hard for me to deal with. Really hard.

Yet, I’m still watching the show.

Damn these are some complex characters and stories. It’s a storyteller’s dream! I’m intrigued but not in love. Yet. It’s the strangest thing. It’s like being curious about a boy that you know is bad for you, but you can’t stop thinking about him no matter what you do. Two nights in a row I dreamed in the 60s. (OMG, can I tell you how much I love the way women dressed and wore their hair. that’s a style that should come back. Especially since I was smokin’ hot in my cute dress and awesome hair in my dream. I did NOT wear an apron.)

Okay and can we talk about the smoking? I remember the early seventies when even my parents smoked. I remember Bridge and Poker parties where everyone was smoking and we had various colored ugly ashtrays set throughout the house. But I don’t remember doctors smoking during exams. I didn’t realize people smoked in the office where they worked. Holy cow these were some smoking fools! The characters are smoking so much, it wouldn’t surprise me if the actors were totally addicted by the end of season one.

Anyone else out there watching this show? What are your thoughts? I’d reccommend watching it if you have it available On Demand. I was almost ready to give up by show #3 but I gave it a chance and now I think I’m going to continue on with Season 2because I can’t seem to look away. Maybe it’s the cigarettes. I iz addicted to ur virtual smokin.

rainy days and sundays…

never get me down. Except that I have to go back to work tomorrow…and really, who wants to do that?

Yesterday was a great day. I almost finished Chapter 6 of new manuscript. I’m going to finish it today and hopefully get Chapter 7 done as well. Then I’m going to upload it to my CPs for their perusal. Then it’s off to Deidre for her opinion. Hopefully it will be love at first sight and all will be well.

We spent yesterday evening with Birdrunner and her family. A thunderboomer came out of nowhere, forcing the kids out of the pool for a while. Then it cleared up and the swimming resumed. We ordered pizza and almost 2 hours later, it arrived. Free of charge. I swear, I hate it when they say 45 minutes but they really meant 1 hour and 45 mins.

Today I’ll be writing and watching the weather. I think it’s supposed to be rainy all day, which is fine with me. I’m in the mood for a good rainy day.

Anything on the agenda for you guys?

how excited am i about this??

watch the trailer, then read the masterplan and join the world on the interntz as we watch Joss Whedon’s latest masterpiece for FREE.

If this isn’t porkchops and awesomesauce* nothing is.

shamelessly stolen from pal, Gwen Hayes.

my friday night.

The boys are at an outdoor concert

My Awesome Pink iPod is shuffling away (seems to be leaning toward Cake today) and my favorite Sauvignon Blanc is sitting by my side.

My laptop is on my lap and my manuscript is open. It is going to be the best Friday night ever because I’m going to write and drink and enjoy my music.

iPod shuffle now playing Flyleaf. Awesome

use this word more often

interloper

Pronunciation: \ˌin-tər-ˈlō-pər, ˈin-tər-ˌ\
Function: noun
Date: circa 1590
: one that interlopes: as a: an illegal or unlicensed trader b: one that intrudes in a place or sphere of activity

Interloper is a great word and I believe we need to use it more often. So everyone go forth and use interloper at least three times today.

You can start now by posting a sentence in the comments.

Here’s mine:

Kristen started out as an interloper, but her persistence charm eventually won Louisa over.

Gwen is blogging at Fictionistas about her fear of clowns. I haven’t even gone over there beacuse I’m so scared. Click the banner and chime in with your thoughts.
Fictionistas