Hot Reptile Sex

While I’m slaving away here in Tallahassee writing, Mel is off in the wilds of Arkansas witnessing Hot Reptile Sex.
She’s at the lake, sunning and drinking, and so far she’s seen 2 snakes go at it and a bobcat. I think the bobcat was a voyeur. Not sure yet. Mel will have to clear up that little detail. I just know that she told me “it’s friggin Animal Kingdom up here”.
Questions for Mel to answer upon her return: Do snakes have a penis? Or for that matter, a vagina? I must have been sleeping during biology when this was explained. Either that or the nuns didn’t cover it at Ascension Catholic School.

dodged a bullet…

Boy The Bachelorette was a hoot last night. Some of these boys are in so much denial that it’s down right pitiful.

Like last week when Hair-dresser Ron was sent home and he said, “DeAnna didn’t reject me, she just chose other people.” Um. dude. That’s rejection. Accept it and move on.

Then this week, Chef Robert acted like a pouty toddler. Wah! They teased me in front of my girlfriend and wrote “Bobbie” on a place card, and tried to sit my big, tall, ass at a kiddie table. Wah! So he ran off from the cookout and pouted and DeAnna was pissed. Don’t blame her really. They invited her down to hang out and then Chef Robert and Selfish Graham went away to pout together. Boohoo.

Chef Robert was in total denial throughout the entire show last night. He and Chicago Fred were picked to go on a 2-on-1 date with DeAnna. (In theory, this would be a dream date for a girl…if it were two different guys) Anyway, Chef Robert “counseled” Chicago Fred that whoever gets the kiss on the double date will get the rose.

Fast Forward to the date…Chef Robert gets some alone time with DeAnna. He tells her that his theory that the first kiss will tell them all they need to know…he goes in for the kill…and she says, “Um, Okay… Right here.” and turns her cheek. She says later she had to “give him the dodge” and that’s exactly what it was.

So given Chef Robert’s on theory that the first kiss would tell all…you would think he’d be well aware that she was about to kiss his ass goodbye. But no. He talked about their “sparks” and “chemistry” (what is she, a lab experiement?) and he was totally shocked when she said, buh-bye Chef Robert.

Chicago Fred thought he was going to get the rose…but he was sadly mistaken, too. She sent him packing. I think her ears were bleeding from his obnoxious accent. I’m sure he’s a really nice guy, he honestly seemed like it. But Fishdog and I decided she sent him home because she couldn’t imagine having sex with him. We had a whole conversation about what it would be like if he talked during sex. We decided that was the reason she sent him home.

DeAnna’s one-on-one date with Jesse was great. He’s so cute. I really like him. He’s going to go far.

The other guy to be let go last night was Brian. He seemed like a good guy but was more worried about hanging with his buddies than hanging with DeAnna.

It’s been a fun season so far. I’m ready for the nitty-gritty good stuff. Next week, Twilley and douchebag The Karate Kid will be sent home and we’ll be down to the final four. My predictions: Graham, Jeremy, Jason, and Jesse. I think Jason will win in the end, but I really like Jesse…maybe he could be the next Bachelor?

In other news, I’m off for a retreat for the next few days and I’ll be without the internet…I’ve asked Fishdog to take over my blogging duties while I’m gone.

I apologize in advance…

weekend recap

First of all, I’m over at Fictionistas today talking about dreams…

This weekend was a big bag of fun. Saturday, we went to the lake with another family and it was The. Perfect. Day. Honestly. The only way it could’ve possibly been any better would be if would’ve remembered to reapply my face sunscreen.

Here are some pics.

look ma, no hands! (Mel: putting the girls to work)

Um. What do I do now?

King and Queen Dork.

Hang on boys!

The girls at rest.
Too cool for school.

Nerd talk on a lake.

Captain Mom and her first mate.

Fishdog and Rader.

Captain Mom and the boat jester.

Sunday was a very productive day. I brainstormed another book with Maria and wrote the synopsis. And today I’ve written 7 more pages on it! I’m totally into my new characters. This is such a fun story. Of course, all my stories are fun…I wouldn’t have it any other way.

Did you have a good weekend? What did you do?

hot mess friday #3

Where have I been today? Getting my awesome hair done by my awesome hair chick. And boy is she awesome. The way my hair was looking, I thought I was going to have to be this week’s featured Hot Mess.

Not anymore. I’m just plain hot now.

Anyway, I know you’ve been waiting on the edge of your seats for this week’s Hot Mess Friday. Let me put you out of your misery…
Hulk Hogan cheated on his wife with a close friend of his daughter. The “good news” here is that the woman is 33 years old…not 19. So, lest y’all think he’s robbing the cradle…

This boggles my mind. He’s 54 years old, has bleach blond hair and a Ringmaster mustache. I’m not sure if Hulk is the hot mess of if the girl sleeping with him is…who knows? Am I the only one surprised he had an option other than his wife?

can’t believe I didn’t post this…

Rader had to dress up like a famous humanitarian and give a presentation during the last week of school. He chose Bono. I can see the likeness, can’t you?

btw, though he did not include the below in his presentation, I believe it would’ve totally added a punch of reality that he was missing.

The Toe Report (like the Colbert Report only about the toe)

Today we are better. The swelling has really gone down…but the color is really ugly. Dr. Weed (the most awesome doc ever. I’ve known him since 7th grade, he RAWKS) said that Rader shouldn’t lose his toenail, but after looking at it this morning, I’m not so sure.

He might be able to wear shoes by the weekend. I guess since he can’t play basketball, this means we can go to the lake… LOL

The Mel Report
I’m having a hard time with this back to work thing. I haven’t written anything since I started the job. I haven’t exercised either. I can’t seem to work that stuff into the new schedule because when I get off work, I swear all I do is run the kids around. You would think that leaving work at 1:00 would give me plenty of time to workout, write, and clean my stinky house. But no. I leave at 1:00, run home, pick up Ian, run him somewhere. Come back, to the house, take Rader somewhere else. Buy groceries or run other important errands. Cook dinner. Bitch about the state of my house. Pick up the boys and collapse in the couch to watch one of the reality shows I’m obsessed with. (don’t judge me.)

I made progress last night by opening my latest proposal and reading through it. So maybe I’ll be able to find my groove again. I think part of the problem is the family has adjusted to me being around all the time whereas before, when I got off work and sat at the computer, they would leave me alone. Now…not so much. Plus, the kids have to be driven places here, not like in Oxford where I could just give them $20 and say “Go to the square.” Or I could kick them out and say, “Find some friends and go to the park. Come back before dark.” We do have a park within walking distance here, but their friends are spread out…so it’s like coordinating a military coup. I don’t really miss Oxford, but I miss some aspects of it…like the kid thing and my friends (Hey guys! I know you’re reading this!)

Speaking of friends:
Seven of us are going to see Sex and the City again tomorrow night. Jealous? You totally should be. I can’t wait to see it again!!!

from the flo up.

The toe be fractured.

The good news is, it’s in a place that will heal quickly and will not require a cast, surgery, or PT. AND he can resume his soccer/basketball/nerding-out as soon as he can put a shoe on. (which might not be for a while, considering the swelling…)

It’s all good.