the MONTH OF MEL: Ruby’s story continued…

Okay, for those of you who don’t know what the MONTH OF MEL! is…first of all, where have you been? Secondly, it’s the Month Formerly Known as March–the month of my birth. I always celebrate my birthday month, so now we just call it the MONTH OF MEL! because it really is all about me.

This year, I’ve tasked you with assigning me with a list of things to do…what can Mel do for you during the MONTH OF MEL? My friend Lee asked me to write a story starring her dogs and mine…Chapter One can be found here.

and the story continues today:

Chapter 2

“Take Hudson and get her back. And this time, make sure the shock collar is set to stun,” Micah growled.

Fergus bit back a whimper. He had hoped she would never be found. He’d wanted her to escape the life of #1 bitch, and she’d managed to for a little while. But Micah wanted his bitch back and what Micah wanted, he got.

“I’ll do it, but I’m going alone.”

He needed to see her. Alone. Just one more time. She might be Princess Peaches to Micah, but she would always be his Ruby Tuesday.

It took six hours to catch up to her. Her new master had packed her up and headed out of town, but Fergus had done his research and he knew they would head for the coast.

Ruby loved the beach. They had always dreamed of running away and starting over in a small beachside doghouse. Just enough room for the two of them.

She was sitting in the wet sand, letting the waves lap at her feet.

“Hello Ruby,” he said, sitting next to her.

She wasn’t surprised to see him.

“I’ve missed you,” she said. “But I can’t go back to that life.”

“I know–I think I’ve got a plan. Do you trust me?”

BTW: Congrats to Lee and Sam and their bouncing baby boy Hopper Augustus! Everyone is happy and healthy and I can’t wait to meet the newest member of the family!

the MONTH OF MEL: a story

So Lee (who’s off having a baby as we speak) tasked me with one million-billion a list of things to do during the MONTH OF MEL! Most of this stuff takes time and planning so it’s been a little difficult to wake up and blog…but today, since she’s off having a baby, I’m going to attempt to write a story starring my dogs (Ruby and Pete) and her farm dogs The Brood. (Lee is a Cocker Spaniel Rescuer…she has 3 dogs of her own, plus whatever semi-cocker spaniel-like beastie they bestow upon her. I can’t keep up with her three ‘real’ dogs, much less the billions of others she has at any given time.)

Ruby was a pug like no other. Solid black and sassy, and maybe just a wee bit spoiled. But spoiled was such an ugly word. She preferred to think of herself as being pampered at very high standards.

Ruby’s “Master” (that always makes her laugh. Like anyone was her master) was a woman named Mel. And she was pretty much perfect for Ruby. Mel knew where Ruby liked to be scratched, fed her on time, and was easily manipulated into playing with her. There was another dog in the house named Pete. He was big and hairy and kinda grumpy, but Ruby didn’t care. Ruby like biting Pete’s lip and making a funny growly noise until Pete would give in and play.

Ruby was the queen and Mel and Pete were her minions. Life was good.

One night, Mel got a call on the Red Phone. Ruby was a little freaked out by this because the Red Phone hadn’t rung once since Ruby had taken over the world come to live in Chez Francis. Mel answered and her eyes went wide: “It’s for you,” she said, handing the red receiver to Ruby.

Worry and panic seized Ruby. Had they found her? Surely not. It had been almost two years. She had started to relax. She was finally living her life as it should be lived…

She took the phone: “Hello.” Her voice was shaky.

She immediately recognized the dog’s voice on the other end. “Hello Princess Peaches. We’ve found you. It’s time for you to come home.”

Just hearing her old name made her want to vomit. She fought the urge to hurl, as the floor spun beneath her feet. Ruby had hoped they had given up. She should’ve known they would never give up…

[To Be Continued…]

Lee–I’m thinking about you today! Good luck birthin’ that nugget! Love you, girl.

the MONTH OF MEL: the list and a limerick

The MONTH OF MEL just got a little more interesting…

My friend Lee (aka Stinkydog) who will be birthin’ a baby any minute now, decided to add to the MONTH OF MEL to do list. Now it’s officially game on.

Here was the list before Lee:

  • Video me singing Duran Duran’s Rio (very dangerous)
  • Hot pink or purple streak in my hair
  • Video of me Zumbaing (Thanks, Ayla–seriously)
  • A short story including some online friends (The Romance Divas)
  • Mel in a prom dress
  • Something involving a clown (I want to know if “murdering the clown” counts as something)

And here are Lee’s additions:

  • go to dim sum and try the chicken feet. (can I just say EW? and really? People eat those? ON FREAKING PURPOSE???)
  • fly a kite
  • buy a cool vintage dress on ebay. (this has been amended because I don’t use ebay anymore thanks to an online hacker)
  • make a music video to your favorite current song–post it on youtube. (I was going to say “make a dance video,” but I believe the zumba may already cover it??)
  • write a short story using my dogs and your dogs as the main characters.
  • carry a digital camera with you at all times and take a picture anytime you see two people kissing.
  • go to a bar you would normally never go to. (like there is such a thing)
  • make me a work of art using only crayons.
  • wear Red every single day for a week.
  • recreate your favorite scene from a movie and take a picture of it for us

Because most of these things take a little prep time, I will start working on my to do list tomorrow. I can’t promise a pic/video everyday, but I do promise to do my best.

And because this is the MONTH OF MEL we should have a MEL POST so I give you a MEL LIMERICK

There once was the MONTH OF MEL
the celebration started off quite well
until she slipped with a meat cleaver
and gave herself a fever
and the only cure was more COWBELL!

we interrupt the MONTH OF MEL

You people are harsh. Am I the only one who didn’t have a problem with The Bachelor last night?

For those of you who don’t know what happened, Jason chose one chick (Melissa) but by the time the “After the Rose” ceremony was taped (6 weeks later), he’d realized he’d made a mistake. He still had feelings for Molly (the other chick).

How many times have we watched this show where the couple pretends to be happy and together on “After the Rose” but two weeks later we’d read they’d broken up?

I have long since said this show is a recipe for disaster. We watch it like we watch for carnage after a train wreck. One man (or woman) dating 25 people. Unrealistic to say the least. Then when it gets down to the final 3, they’re sent on these fantasy dates. Unless you just couldn’t stand the person you’re with, it would be damn near impossible not to have some feelings for them. Real feelings. We’re only human after all.

Is it really unrealistic to believe that one guy could develop real feelings for more than one girl? And then because you’re in this controlled but fairytale-like environment, you have to choose between them. RIGHT NOW. Not tomorrow. Not after you date in real life. BUT RIGHT FREAKING NOW! and wow, what a decision. You have strong feelings for both women and you want so much to make the “RIGHT” choice, but–but–but

It’s impossible.

I wouldn’t do this show to save my life. The relationships rarely work out after it’s all over…How many are still together after all the shows? 3? Maybe???

Maria Geraci
thinks it was all staged. I disagree. I think Jason realized about 2 days after it was all over that he fucked up. That he couldn’t get Molly out of his mind. That wow, he could keep on with Melissa but wouldn’t that just be wrong? (well, sure, but apparently that’s okay with all you people out there. Y’all don’t seem to have a problem with them faking their way through the After the Rose as long as you get your ‘fake’ HEA.)

As John Stossel would say, “Give me a break.” I actually appreciate his honesty. Molly was shocked. She kept looking over at Chris like, “Am I being punked?” I can only imagine what was going through her mind. Melissa wasn’t shocked. She knew. There is no way you won’t convince me that she and Jason didn’t discuss this prior to the show. And even if they didn’t discuss it, she knew. He’d pulled away, she could sense it. Maybe she was upset he officially ended it on the show ‘as per his contract’ or whatever, but she still knew.

All you judgey-mcjudgies out there? Get over it. Seriously. He was probably the most honest of all of the bachelors by ending things on the show and telling Molly how he felt. I guarantee you there were a couple of others who wished they’d done the same. I just don’t understand how it would’ve been better if he’d just faked his way the After show like 90% of the others. I don’t understand at all.

You go, Jason. Hope y’all are happy. You better believe I’ll be watching the After the After show tonight. I can’t get enough of this human carnage.

The MONTH OF MEL begins today

Technically, it began at midnight Saturday night, and I rang in the month very appropriately.

I pulled an all-nighter. I don’t remember the last time I did that…but I’ll tell you it took me all day yesterday to recover. Wow. I’m not as young and agile as I used to be.

A high school classmate got married Saturday afternoon and a bunch of old friends came into town for the wedding. Friday night we went to Cajun’s and I got smart. I drank very little, and we left before midnight. I could see where the party was headed and I knew I was going out Saturday night as well, so I was a very smart girl and left.

But Saturday night? I partied like it was the end of an era.

I’m a lucky girl. I’ve maintained a ton of relationships from high school. We don’t get together often, but when we do–wow. Amazing. These people are very important to me and I’m really blessed to have them in my life still. Let me tell you though–it’s good that we only do this every once in a while, because I’m getting too old for all-nighters.

Some pics of the weekend:






I really am a very lucky girl to have friends like these still in my life.

how NOT to pick up Mel…

Let’s set the stage:

Mel is browsing the humor section in Barnes and Noble when she feels someone staring at her. She glances up to see a bookish looking man, pretty brown skin, nice glasses–kinda professorial. He’s handsome in a bookwormy sorta way. Mel digs bookworms sometimes. Bookworm looks at Mel’s perfectly pedicured toes and his eyes light up. Mel briefly wonders what it is with men and her feet…

Bookworm smiles and says “How ya doin’?”

Mel smiles back. “Great. Thanks. How are you?”

Mel and Bookworm exchange pleasantries. Mel goes back to browsing the humor section.

BW: Have you heard of Louis Joliet?

Mel: No? Is he an author? (Mel briefly wonders if maybe this was BW’s way of introducing himself…)

BW: Yeah. He’s looking him up for me. I haven’t been able to find him.

Mel: Ah.

Mel goes back to browsing.

BW: You sure are pretty.

Mel starts laughing. Blushes demurely.

Mel: Um, thanks.

BW: You gotta man?

Mel bites the inside of her cheek. Must hear that again. “Pardon?”

BW: You gotta man?

Mel: laughing now Oh honey….yeah, I gotta man.

Really? In BN? That’s the best you could do?

Epic Fail.

are you ready?

For the

MONTH OF MEL!?

the month formerly known as March

Starting Sunday, we will celebrate the MONTH OF MEL! in style. So start thinking about what you would like to see me do…My Thursday Girls gave me a few suggestions over drinks yesterday evening. Most of them were NOT PG-13 though. Trust me when I tell you, Wax on; Wax off will never have the same meaning again.

The list of things you’d like to see so far:

Video me singing Duran Duran’s Rio (very dangerous)
Hot pink or purple streak in my hair
Video of me Zumbaing (Thanks, Ayla–seriously)
A short story including some online friends (The Romance Divas)

Then last night my Thursday Girls suggested:

Mel in a prom dress
Something involving a clown (I want to know if “murdering the clown” counts as something)

So, you got anything you want to add? I’m taking requests and if it can be done (ie I have the money to do it, am not afraid of it (see clown), or it’s not rated R or X) then I’ll do it. I will humiliate myself for you, dear blog readers.

Because this is the MONTH OF MEL! and it needs to be celebrated in style!

Today is gonna be a great day. I’m hanging out with Jen, my bff from high school. We’re getting pedicures, doing a little shopping (I have a Vicky’s Secret Gift Cert I’ve been waiting to use…) and we’re headed to 7th Street Tattoos to meet with Jud about my sooper sekrit tattoo design. It’s gonna be awesome. And don’t worry, there will definitely be a tattoo day feature on my blog once I have it!

What’s on your agenda this Friday?

we’re only 2 days away

from…

(drum roll please…)

THE MONTH OF MEL!

That’s right folks–it’s almost March. And this year, we’re going to celebrate the MONTH OF MEL! a little differently.

Sure it’s going to be all about Mel (as it should be. It is my month, after all.)

But this year, you guys get to play along.

What would you like to see me do this month? I’m taking your requests (pg-13 people) and I will perform your request (if possible) and take a picture of it. And then blog about it.

So, get your ideas ready. Do you want me to write a haiku for you? Mail you a letter? Climb a tree? Just be happy? What can Mel do for you during her month?

You can comment or email me your suggestions. I promise, I’ll try my best to perform your requests to the best of my ability. And I promise the pictures will be worth a thousand words.

Random Mel-O-Jumble

This morning, I was struggling for a blog topic. I’m not sure if it was my restless sleep last night or my foggy head this morning, but I just couldn’t come up with anything.But then I drove Rader to school and a few things popped into my head.

So here goes. This isn’t a meme. It’s just a Me.

Things you probably didn’t know about Mel.

  1. If I have cash, I tend to give money to the homeless guys begging at stoplights. This usually happens about once a month (I rarely carry cash). I truly believe they need that $5 more than I do and if they’re scam artists, good for them—I’d rather not know. It takes courage to stand there for the world to judge you. I don’t care if they use my cash on food, booze, drugs, or cigarettes. They have a need and I can help them, even if it’s only a buck. Rader is usually in the car with me when I give money. I always feel bad when I don’t have any cash and he always tells me that he has some cash if I want to go home and bring it back.
  2. Sometimes a song will make my heart hurt.
  3. I didn’t know what I wanted to do with my life until I was 30 years old. If you have a kid who is wandering from path to path, don’t give up! (I have a kid who is going to do the same thing I did. I hate that for him, but I totally understand him.)
  4. I hate panty lines and think there is no excuse for having them.
  5. It only takes me 30-40 minutes to get ready in the morning. Shower, shave, hair, makeup, clothes.
  6. I don’t wear a lot of makeup. I wear mineral foundation, mascara, lip gloss or tinted Chapstick. Occasionally I’ll wear eyeliner. Evening makeup is a light eye shadow and lipstick.
  7. I wear flip-flops almost year around.
  8. I don’t think that teaching abstinence and birth control/safe sex are mutually exclusive and I don’t understand how parents in this day and age can justify NOT talking to their kids about safe sex. As a matter of fact, I talk about sex so much to my kids that I’m pretty sure they’ll never have sex because of it. *SCORE*
  9. I don’t understand why people start off with “No offense but…” People need to own their opinions. And they need to learn how to express them properly without the “No offense” padding.
  10. If I had a choice between sports and a girly thing like a baby shower or wedding shower, sports will always win. (I will sacrifice that for my BFFs. Mainly because they wouldn’t torture me with stupid games.)
  11. I used to drink 6-10 Diet Cokes or Coke Zeros a day. Now I have maybe 2or 3 a month (except when on deadline). And those usually have bourbon in them. Or vanilla vodka. Heh.
  12. I am planning to buy a pair of red cowboy boots this year.
  13. I’m really excited about getting my tattoo soon. I can’t wait to show you guys!

in which Mel plays Bunco (or Bunko) or however you spell it

Bunc(k)o is a dice game. (Some people spell it with a ‘k’ and some with a ‘c.’ I’m a ‘c’ girl, so from now on, it’s Bunco because honestly, the ‘k’ bugs me.) I have been asked to play Bunco in the past, but have always declined. It just didn’t sound like something I would enjoy. Or maybe the two groups that asked me weren’t my kinda people. Either way, I had never been properly introduced to Bunco.

Much to the horror of Maria Geraci, soon-to-be bestselling author of BUNCO BABES TELL ALL and BUNCO BABES GONE WILD . The thought that her BFF was a Bunco virgin? Unacceptable.

So last night, my Bunco cherry was popped.

I had the best time. This group of women was hot like me. And loud. And obnoxious. And I fit right in. Who knew that was possible?

Now I’ll admit to some confusion when the rolling began. “Roll for sixes and if you get doubles roll again.”

Huh? That’s it?

Apparently.

There are other rules, but the big one is, if you (or somebody) rolls 3 sixes (which is a Bunco) then you have to grab all the dice. If you are the roller and don’t grab the dice you get to keep rolling but whoever got the dice gets the points. (at least that’s how this group plays. I understand different groups have different rules. I’m sure the Maria Geraci the Bunco Queen will be able to tell us for sure.)

Grabbing for the dice is where things get a little dicey dangerous. If you’re not careful, you can draw back a nub. But I held my own and even rolled 1 Bunco myself. Plus I grabbed them so I got all the points. And then I grabbed two other Buncos (1 partial which still counts). So I got the hang of the game.

There was a lot of laughing and gabbing. And dice grabbing. And some screaming. When we started talking about porn, it was like snapping the last piece of the puzzle into place. These were women after my own heart.

Maybe there will be more Bunco in my future after all.