random thought: switching teams

switch teams:
to change ones sexual orientation, from homosexual to heterosexual, or vise-versa.

Girls often joke (or not) about women they would “switch teams” for. Many of us have a list (or not).

Are there any straight men out there who will admit to feeling the same way about another man? C’mon. You can tell me. I promise, I’ll keep your secret…

salsa chicken recipe

Kate S. asked for my yummy recipe, so here it is.

8 boneless, skinless chicken breasts (I actually use thefrozen
uncooked chicken tenders now.)
1 jar salsa
1 package reduced sodium taco seasoning
2 cans reduced fat cream of mushroom soup (condensed)
1/2 cup reduced fat sour cream
hot sauce to taste (optional)

Directions
Add chicken to slow cooker. Sprinkle taco seasoning and hot sauce over
chicken.Pour in salsa and soup. Cook on low for 6 to 8 hours. (or high for about
4) Remove from heat and stir in sour cream. (optional)
Serve with rice.

This is so easy and yummy. And it’s very low in fat. The kids love it.

we are family!

Had a great dinner last night. I fixed one of my favorite new dishes…and I spiced it up with some Tiger sauce. It was almost too spicy for a few folks. My bad.

The wine and conversation flowed and I finally had to call it a night about 11:00. I didn’t wanna wake up cranky for work today, so I headed to bed.

Where I promptly had a nightmare.

Don’t you hate it when you have bad dreams? This was so real that I woke up in a panic. My heart and mind were racing. It took me a few minutes to calm down and realize it was all a dream. Unfortunately, it took me even longer to get back to sleep.

It’s all good now.

I’m not sure if I’ll be blogging or not the rest of the weekend. Who knows? Sometimes I surprise myself. If you don’t see me around, I’ll be the sungoddess on Lake Ouachita.

won’t be long

before Brother Joe and clan arrive. We’re having Salsa Chicken, wild rice, and salad.

And beer.

You know, I realized that even though I’m down a size since March, I’m now stagnant in my weightloss again. I’ve reverted back to some bad habit *koff* beer *koff* and I’ve stopped walking and going to the gym. I gotta get back on the wagon. So, after the 4th, I’m back on track. There will be no more very little partying. I can’t stop now!

I got a text from Grant. They’re having a blast at the Lake of the Ozarks. Can you imagine the havoc 20 or so hot British Soccer players are causing right about now? I bet there isn’t a cold bed in that county this week.

Those were the days…

thanks, y’all

I really appreciate the love during yesterday’s slight meltdown.

I’m all better now. Promise. It was just bad news at a bad time and now it’s over. We all have shitty days sometimes.

My BIL and his family are going to be here today. (you’ll see him comment as ‘brother joe’ sometimes.) I’m excited. We haven’t seen them in two years. Unfortunately, my house is still a wreck after the British Invasion over the weekend. So, I’m having Fishdog put our slaves kids to work today. Hopefully they won’t be here til sometime tonight. Otherwise, they may rethink their decision to stay with us cuz the house is just this side of Zoo.

Do y’all have big plans for the weekend? We’re headed to the lake on the 5th–staying here for the 4th. Decided it would be better to stay away from the lake crowd on Friday and hit it Saturday. Probably will be just as crowded, but who cares. It’ll stil be fun.

With any luck, next week some of the lads from ‘Team Maumelle’ will be back to run a camp in Bryant. (my hometown) Hopefully we’ll get to see them. Justin said he thought he might get assigned to that camp, which would be awesome. Maybe I’ll get a few more ‘morning’ pictures. 🙂

I know Grant won’t be in Bryant–which is sad for us, but oh well. He’s going for a full-time job here in the states. If he gets it, then we’ll be seeing him more. That’ll be good for us. I miss him when he’s gone. He really is a part of our family.

So, tell me about your plans. What’s going on over the 4th? And to my Canadian friends, did you do anything fun yesterday? Happy Belated Canada Day!

moving on

Okay, I’m thinking happy thoughts now. Wanna see what I’m thinking about?

How can a girl not be happy when she looks at this picture?

And seriously, how can a girl not be happy when she has this to come home to?

and these dudes to drive her batty?

And the occasional breakfast table that looks like this:

Yeah. Pity party is definitely over. I’m a lucky girl. I just have to remember that.

pity party over

I just had a bit of a melt down. Seriously. It was ugly.

What set me off? We got a call from the mechanic–our van is dead. Well, it may as well be…it needs a new transmission.

The damn thing has almost 170K miles on it. I’m not spending upwards to 2K for a new transmission. I’m not.

Anyway, that news just blew me into orbit. I have been trying so hard to remain positive during this time. We’ve managed with 2 house payments. It’s not easy. We’ve had to make some cutbacks and we’ve had to make some sacrifices, but we’ve been working through it.

And I’ve been waiting for Karma to pat me on the back. I mean, where has she been? Is she on vacation? She must be, because surely she wouldn’t allow me to continue to have a house on the market AND have to buy a new car I can’t afford.

Hm. Guess she would.

So today I threw myself a bit of a pity party. But now it’s over. Screw you, Karma. I’ll make my own destiny. And if you don’t show up soon and make this shit right, next time I see you, I’m going to punch you in the tits. Hard. Trust me when I say, that’s exactly how I felt when the mechanic called today.

fanatsy island…tell me about your fantasy hero

I’ve blogged about this before, but I feel like it’s time to resurrect one of my favorite topics. The Alpha Male.

I love a bad boy. Always have. Over the years I’ve realized that the bad boy is my fantasy…one that I never wanted as my life partner. Not that Fishdog isn’t a bit of a bad boy—he totally is. Bald head, long goatee, loud and confident. (all he’s missing is an eyebrow piercing and a tattoo—he’s thinking about the tattoo. Don’t think I’ll ever convince him to pierce his eyebrow.) Either way, he definitely looks the part. But overall, he’s a teddy bear. He’s the perfect guy for me in real life.

But I’m not talking real life today; I’m talking about fantasy world.

I know there are women out there who love to read/watch/fantasize about the ‘Beta’ hero. As Kwana says “Apples and oranges.” I have no problem with a Beta man. In the real world, they make the great partners (for some women). But for me, when I’m indulging in a fantasy, it’s all about the attitude. And Betas just don’t have what I’m looking for.

It’s not just about a hot body and a pretty face (although, truth be told, that doesn’t hurt) it’s about mind-set and self-assurance. Shy is cute, but confidence turns me on.

Look at DeAnna on the Bachelorette. Who was she the most attracted to? Graham. He was confident and cocky and very closed off. But his aura was sex-on-a-stick. Was he the right guy for her? Nope. But could she stay away? Nope. The air sizzled when they were together. All that sexual frustration would end up coming out—usually in the form of a fight. What they needed was one week all alone without any clothing. They were never going to have a real relationship, but damn they would’ve had fun getting all that out of their system with some hot, sweaty, monkey-love.

Louisa blogged about this not too long ago. Her question was: how tough is too tough. Well for me, it’s not about actually being tough. (Though I’m not opposed to a tough guy). For me, Alpha/Bad-Boy really is all in the attitude. You can be an electrician or an accountant and still be Alpha. Or a snowboarder. Look at Jesse on the Bachelorette. He’s soft spoken and quiet most of the time, but his confidence is off the charts. It’s damn sexy…and it is the reason he’s in the final two. But will he be the one she picks? Probably not. Because the thing that draws us to an Alpha is the very thing that makes them a difficult life partner—they’re not easily complemented. DeAnna and Graham butted heads because they were both very Alpha. Sexual tension was so thick between them, but other than that, they were oil and water. Jesse and DeAnna would do the same. Even though he has a bit of both, I think the bad boy in him would be hard to settle down. And that’s what she wants more than anything right now.

But that’s why Alphas make such awesome fantasies, because we don’t want to change them, we want to believe we’re the perfect complement to them! However, I’m not sure that’s possible in real life.

What do you think? Can a true Alpha make a good real life hero? Or is it that impossible? I think real life heroes are a good mix of Alpha/Beta (would that make them Gamma?) but when I fantasize, I like my men damn near Cro-Magnon. Okay, with smaller foreheads and a better vocabulary…but you get the picture.

Tell me, oh blog readers, what do you think? And guys—what about the chicks? Do you like them with confidence or do you prefer them pretty, pliable, and mute? The less expressive the better? Or is that just your fantasy girl? Seriously, I’m curious. What type of girls do guys fantasize about (and I’m not just talking about a nice set of tits).

Go on. Talk amongst yourselves.