whoohoo!

Okay, I promise to post pics this afternoon of luau and our day at the lake, but, until then—

Join me in congratulating my good friend Gena Showalter on her latest and very amazing deal! Man, her agent must be a shark (good thing, since she’s my agent, too…)

Love you both, Gena and Deidre. Huge congrats.

Tracy Farrell at Harlequin has acquired a new YA urban fantasy series by Gena Showalter that will launch the imprint’s forthcoming YA line in a seven-figure world rights deal with Deidre Knight. The first book is titled Intertwined and will be published in October 2009; no word on how many books in the deal.

hot mess friday

Welcome to (hopefully) a new weekly edition here at Mel-O-Drama

Hot Mess Friday

Today’s Hot Mess? Amy Winehouse. (May 22, 2008)

Amy Winehouse fled her home last night (21.05.08), claiming ghosts were trying to harm her.

The troubled 24-year-old singer says a poltergeist – who she has named Henry – is haunting her North London flat and is trying to harm her.

Now, don’t get me wrong, I totally believe in ghosts and it very well could be that Amy’s flat is haunted. But my guess? Henry is actually the name she gave her hallucination after she freebased some badly cut heroin. Or maybe she’d just tweaked her last batch of homemade meth. Whatever. I’m thinking Henry is just her subconscious telling her she is a big hot mess.

Wait, there’s more!
(April 25, 2008)

Winehouse, 24, was said to have punched a man inside a bar early Wednesday
morning, then later head-butted a 38-year-old man who tried to hail her a
cab.

Assault carries a six-month prison sentence in London, where the incidents reportedly took place.

Unfazed by her legal situation, Winehouse left her home at about 10 p.m. Thursday night to go out on yet another bender.

Amy, Amy, Amy. Fine. You punched a guy in the bar. I’m sure Henry told you to do it. But why on earth would you head-butt the only friend you had left in the world? The only person who was willing to help you at the time?

Big. Hot. Mess.

fast times at awesome high and a rant

I watched Fast Times at Ridgemont High last night for the first time in forever. God that movie is teh awesome.

Ian sat and watched it with me for a while. He laughed a lot, which I think surprised him. He made a comment about “Old people being weird.” which was totally directed at me since I was quoting the movie and laughing until I snorted. I was really curious to see how Ian would react to the boob scenes, but he gave up on the movie before Jennifer Jason Leigh and Phoebe Cates disrobed. Not that he has seen boob scenes before. But he hasn’t really seen them in the context of characters around his age.

Anyway, it was fun to watch and laugh with my kid. He’ll probably watch it without me now. God knows he doesn’t want me to think he likes something I suggested he watch. *rolling eyes* After I told him he missed the boob action, he’ll totally watch.
And now onto the rant:
TOP CHEF
WTF?
Can anyone explain to me how it is that greasy-headed Lisa is still on this show? How on earth did Dale get sent home before that Hot Mess of a chef? I mean, has she ever NOT been in the bottom three? Why is she still there? Her attitude sux. She is a whiner and a crybaby and the most negative person on earth. Plus, she can’t freaking cook!

I have decided that Lisa and her Hot Mess Hair and the Karate Kid from The Bachelorette need to hook up so they can produce a litter of Hot Mess Hair babies…

FINE. I’LL FREAKING PLAY

I have been tagged multiple times with this meme. Maureen, Kwana, Kristen, Dana and I think even Ghandi got me with this one.

So I’ll play.

It’s called the 1-2-3 tag and it goes like this:

Here are the rules:
1. Pick up the nearest book.
2. Open to page 123.
3. Find the fifth sentence.
4. Post the next three sentences.
5. Tag five people.

I’m only playing this because I can tease you guys with a morsel from Gena Showalter’s next book in the Lords of the Underworld series. So haha.

From The Darkest Kiss (Lucien’s story)

Casual though their friendships were, their loss had hurt her, their humanity a weakness she had come to despise. She no longer hung with humans, hadn’t for several years, and some nights she was so lonely she found herself snuggling with a teddy bear she’d stolen from the grand opening of a Toys “R” Us store.

With Lucien, she wasn’t lonely.

The tag dies with me. If you want to play, please do and let me know in the comments that you did…otherwise, go buy Gena’s book. 🙂

don’t forget!

Don’t forget to swing by the Knight Agency’s chat room this evening where we will be chatting live with NYT Bestselling author Gena Showalter at 8pm EST.

Gena will be answering questions, giving advice and dropping hints about the next title in her LORDS OF THE UNDERWORLD series, THE DARKEST KISS, which recently received a 4 & 1/2 star review from Romantic Times magazine.
You don’t want to miss out on this great event which is sure to have something for everyone who loves a great romance.

I know that I’m not alone in saying that I think Gena’s new series is one of the hottest things to hit paranormal romance this year. Be sure to stop by at 8pm EST tonight to find out what all of the buzz is about!
WHO: GENA SHOWALTER
WHAT: CHATTING LIVE!
WHEN: 8pm EST, Tuesday May 20, 2008 TONIGHT!!!!!
WHERE: TKA CHATROOM
To Enter the chat tonight: Follow this link TKA CHATROOM, enter a screen name and simply select “login.”
*Rules of Play: To keep things organized, the chats are all moderated. The moderator will begin by posting the following rules of play: when you have a question, simply type a “?” and the moderator will keep a list and call on you when it is your turn.
*Chat tips: When waiting on your turn, type your question in Word or another application so when it is your turn you only have to copy and paste. (Keeps the chat running smoothly)Click on any screen name in the list to open a Private Message conversation (a lot like AIM).

sucked in

You’ll notice from my Twitter announcements on the side that I was sucked in to The Bachelorette last night. Sigh. I don’t know why I do this to myself. Seriously.

Once you start watching, you can’t look away. It’s a proven fact!
Last night did not disappoint in the realm of what-the-fuckedness. (new word. add it to your daily glossary) We had a dude I now call “Football-for-Jesus”. Look, I have no problem with your faith being #1 in your life, but c’mon. You don’t proclaim Jesus and I’m a virgin the moment you step off the limo. Dude is a pro-football player. Too bad I can’t remember his real name or I’d google him. Hang on, let me see…Okay, his name is Ryan and he plays football in Minneapolis. I’ll admit to gaping at the TV when Deanna gave “Football-for-Jesus” dude a rose.

But the biggest shocker? When she kept the Karate Kid.

O.M.G

Dude was the biggest knob. An absolute tool.

First off, his hair was a hot, greasy, mess. Usually I dig long hair, not on this dude. Secondly, did I mention that he was a knob? Cuz he was.

Many of the guys were doing stupid things to get Deanna’s attention. One dude jumped into the pool with his suit on, then took it off, showing the world his speedo bathing suit with Deanna’s name printed on the bottom.
One dude called her with a duck-call. Yeah. I’m not kidding.
But the Karate Kid? He took the snowboarder dude (who I actually really liked) and placed a lemon on a plastic cup on top of the snowboarder’s head and then kicked it off. Like a 13 year old boy trying to impress a girl in front of his gang. Snowboarder dude said, “If you miss, when I wake up, I’m gonna punch you in the balls five times.” Awesome.

But Deanna ended up giving the Karate Kid a rose. I’m sure she was instructed to keep him. That’s the only reason I can imagine why she would’ve. Biggest. Knob. Ever.
The best part about watching the show? Fishdog watched with me. His commentary was priceless. I may never watch this show without him again.

feeling chatty?

New York Times Best Selling author (doesn’t that just roll off your tongue like bubbles?) Gena Showalter is going to be chatting live at the TKA chatroom tomorrow night, 8pm EST. Here’s the link.

I just finished devouring reading the first book in Gena’s Lords of the Underworld series, THE DARKEST NIGHT and was so excited to find book #2 waiting for me in the mail today. That naughty little minx sent me a copy along with the two books I had her sign for the blog give away. Now how will I ever find time to write when I’ll be reading THE DARKEST KISS? Gena is a buffet of awesome, so come chat with her tomorrow night.

hello moto…

Don’t ask me why that is my blog title this morning. It just is.

I woke around 4:30 to a lovely rain shower. A nice change from the thunderstorms we’ve had lately. After I drifted back to sleep, I had some weird dreams and finally made myself get out of bed and go buy groceries.

I love grocery shopping early on Sundays. Most often the only other people there are the ones who woke to realize they had no coffee in the house, or the ones who are just getting in from their night out.

Today, however, that was not the case. It wasn’t crowded, but there were too many ‘normal’ shoppers there. What were they thinking doing their regular shopping on MY shopping day? Didn’t they get the memo?

Imagine my disgust when the checkout line was 4 deep and the cute little oriental lady was the only checker. “You. Go self-scan.” She points and directs me and this other lady. “No more checkers. You go self-scan.”

Dude, I have a basket full of groceries. There is no self-scan big enough for my load. The lady in front of me refuses. Finally I say, “Fine. I’ll self-scan.”

I don’t have a problem with self-check out. I actually prefer it…but I had a ton of groceries. And of course, the self-scan line backed up with 5 people and their two items each, all giving me the stink-eye.

“Hey. Not my idea. Was sent over here.”

They all look at me like, whatever.

But I finish self-scan and realize that I still beat the lady over on aisle 4. Haha.

Ian gets home today from his 3 day trip in DC. We heard from him a couple of times. Yesterday he said he only got about 30 mins of sleep the night before. Um. Wah? He should sleep well tonight. In honor of his return, we’re having ribs, baked potatoes, and salad. Jealous much?