the 1st of 2010…

Today, my friend Birdrunner and I will recommence our very cherished bi-monthly pedicure tradition.

And I can’t wait. My toes have been neglected through these cold, winter months. And nothing says I’m ready for spring like pretty, painted toes. So bring on the sun bitches. I’m ready for spring!

I love picking my toe colors. Sometimes I go with name, sometimes I just know I want a certain color and have to find just the right one. Sometimes I let my Facebook friends pick my color for me.

While we were discussing my first 2010 toe color on FB the other day, I realized I have NEVER had red toes.

Never.

Ever.

WTH?

So if my salon has the new Alice in Wonderland colors…I believe I’m going to be wearing OFF WITH HER RED.

say what?

So I get song lyrics wrong all the time. I know I’m not the only one; there are websites dedicated to the fact that we can’t hear clearly. (Or they can’t sing clearly…whatever)

Can you guess the songs from my messed up lyrics?

“400 children and the crops in the field.”

“(I send shivers) Smooth opinion.”

“Spread your love on Clyde; oh me oh my.”

Have a great day!

tell me it’s true!


I love college football, particularly Razorback football. I will watch the NFL some but I don’t have a team I love or follow…I basically follow ex-Razorbacks. So I’ll watch the Cowboys for ♥Felix Jones♥, the Raiders (barf) for Darren McFadden (♥), occasionally the Broncos for Peyton Hillis and the Bears for the two Marcuses (Harrison and M♥nk). I watched the Saints for Boo Williams until he got hurt but my favorite Razorback of all time was Matt Jones–so I was a Jaguar fan because I LOVED watching him play.

Then he did something stupid, got arrested, was on thin ice with his team, did something stupid again, and got let go.

So last year, the NFL was without Matt Jones, and I missed him. Terribly.

But things might be changing soon. There are rumors floating around that both the Cincinnati Bengals and the Tennessee Titans are interested in Jones. He’d get more playing time with Cincy (and actually, he’d be playing with another Razorback who was drafted in 2009, Jonathon Luigs) and that’s probably where he’s gonna end up. I’d actually like to see him land with the Titans, but wherever he lands, I’ll be happy. BECAUSE HE’LL BE PLAYING AGAIN.

I love him and I’m sooooo ready to watch him play again. So Jones, don’t screw up this time, mmmkay?

my bad

I’ve been a blog slacker lately. I missed 2 days last week and then I missed yesterday. What’s up with that?

Nothing exciting has been happening around here. Finally got a section of my driveway de-iced enough that I can get the car out and our road finally thawed out yesterday.

Just in time for round two. Yup. There’s another chance of snow tonight. I know I wanted this stuff, but now I’m ready for it to go away. This is why I don’t live somewhere colder.

Both kids have school today, and they’re not happy about it. They have been perfectly content to stay in their cave playing WOW and X-Box. They’re almost praying for another round of snow. I keep telling them the more snow days we take, the longer they’ll be in school this summer–but they don’t seem to care. I’m thinking they’ll care big time in June.

Anything new with you guys?

stuck inside

We have about 6 inches of snow on the ground. It was the good kinda snow–see?


But then the snow turned to about 3 hours of rain, so all that good snow is now hard as a rock. And we’re kinda stuck. We live on a hill and our driveway is so steep that if I try to back out, I’ll just start sliding and probably won’t stop until I’m in my neighbor’s living room. So we’re sticking this one out today while the sun works on melting the stuff away. I don’t know how my friends in the Northeast are handling more than 2 feet. I love snow, but it rarely lasts more than a couple of days here. 2 feet would bury us alive.

wow. that was a surprise!

I went to bed early last night. (Didn’t even finish watching the Super Bowl. I was so tired. But I knew the Saints were gonna win so I didn’t have to watch…)

I woke up this morning to snow. Who knew? Not me, said the flea.

Not sleet.

Not ice.

Snow. Real, snowman-making snow.

And it’s still coming down. I was so shocked!!

so was Ruby:
She’s not so sure about all this…

Anyway, it was a great surprise. We just had no idea this was gonna happen. Made my Monday a great day!

Now, we didn’t get over 2 feet of snow like my friend Amanda did, but hey, we’ve got 2 inches and it’s still coming…so who knows where it will stop?

kickin’ it old skool

So this morning a co-worker asked me if I was like the mother from Harper Valley PTA. I had to laugh because, you know what? I kinda am. A lot of you won’t remember the song because you weren’t even embryos then. But believe me I remember the song & the movie. Here ya go:

I remember this video like it was yesterday. We won’t talk about how ‘yesterday’ was 24 years go.

dopplegang this


So last week’s Facebook game was ‘Doppleganger’ week. Everyone was posting new profile pictures of celebrities they’ve been told they look like.

Um. The only celebrity I’ve ever been told I resemble is Queen Latifiah. And as much as I adore her…both of us being strong women of larger stature does not automatically mean we look alike. Now we might carry ourselves in the same way–but looks? Nope.

I really don’t have a celebrity doppleganger (and me wanting to be Stifler’s mom does not count). So I asked around and I got a few different answers, so I’ll let you decide. Do I resemble any of these folks below or someone else entirely?

Janeane Garofalo: I like Janeane and am not opposed to her being my doppleganger, but I think it’s more attitude than looks that people see.

Toni Collette: I am amenable to this comparison.

And my favorite….Jessica Rabbit: (I wish)

So what do you think? Any of these work? Who do you think is my doppleganger?

worth the wait

The snow finally came Friday. But not until it was dark. We had at least 4 hours of nonstop sleet prior to the fluffy stuff, so when the snow finally did start falling, it had at least an inch of solid ice to stick to.


We had to get creative with our sledding because we don’t get much snow here, so we don’t have sleds.

so we used boxes

I was a snow bunny for a day

and my oldest was too cool for pics…as usual. He tried to hide, but I caught him a time or two.


so we’ve had our winter storm and now I’m ready for spring.

Oh and can you believe it’s February 1st? Where the heck did January go!!!!