hella storms

I did NOT wake in a better mood today. Sometime between midnight and the rising of the Grim Reaper, an intergalactic battle was fought over my house.

Worse. Curse. Ever.
(watch the video when you get a chance. It will make you laugh. There is some cursing so it may not be work safe…use headphones. Totally worth watching though. Promise.)

Lightning struck somewhere nearby and it lit up the sky like the Vegas Strip. My entire room was blue/white for multiple seconds. It was like someone flicked on a fluorescent light then flipped it back off. That was freaky. But the thunderboom following it–WORSE. CURSE. EVER. Seriously, I came off the bed screaming and my 14 year old boy came running into our room in a panic. It was louder than a sonic boom.

And that’s when the battle began. I have no other way of describing it. I thought the storms we had a few weeks ago were bad, but I was wrong. The freaky weird cone of silence we had last week was bad, but at least it was quiet. (okay, deathly quiet. But the key word here is QUIET)

The storm carried on for about an hour and a half. I would get to sleep just to be awakened by another clap of thunder or another flash of fluorescent. Finally we thought the storm was dulling some. The lightning and thunder were still persistent, but not as loud or bright. That’s when the firetrucks came.

All 5 million of them.

Sigh.

Right up the street, they blared and parked two houses down from me. At this point, I thought maybe I had died and that my eternal punishment was the land of no sleep. Honestly–that would be a very good punishment for me. Nothing is more frustrating to me. I just don’t exist well without some rest. (like at least 8 hours–though I can get by on 6 a few days a week)

Anyway, Fishdog came to my rescue this morning. (as always. That man is a dream hubby) When my alarm went off, I begged him to please take the kids this morning, even though I know he didn’t sleep much after 3:00 a.m. either. I should’ve sucked it up, but he manages better on fewer hours of wink time than I do.

I slept til 9:45. I mean. WOW is that late for me.

I still have a headache, but it’s nothing that 3 advil and some coffee won’t cure. Obviously, I did get some sleep finally because I feel better today than I did yesterday. This is a very good thing.

Today I start working on LOVE SUX! I have the first chapter mostly written. I’m going to Michael Hauge my plot so that I know the story makes sense. My goal is to have the first draft finished by Summer. I am stoked about the story. I’ve been thinking about it a lot lately and I am now ready to take AJ’s issues to the next level. It’s not going to be fun for our vampy little heroine. Poor girl.

I totally enjoyed all y’all’s lists yesterday. (like my southern pluralism of y’all?) Fishdog said he felt left out (hence the Chad Lowe comment) but he was wrong. There are three songs on my happy list that are reserved only for him. And he should’ve known that. When you get three songs on my happy list, obviously, you make me happy. Duh.

How did y’all sleep last night and what do you do when you don’t get enough? Or do you exist just fine, like my hubby does?

Don’t forget to swing by Fictionistas today to check out Rhonda’s post on guy-o-mancy…

Fictionistas

stolen goods

I totally ripped this off from my girls at Naughty and Spice. I don’t care. Anything that can make me howl with laughter is worth stealing.

Richard Simmons and Jimmy Kimmel (guest starring Sam Elliot) am I still the only one who thinks Sam Elliot is HOT even though he’s got to be 110 years old?

drive by posting

I’m finishing up my latest proposal to send to my fab critique partners today, cuz we’re headed to Oxford tomorrow to do some yard work and to bring home my gardening tools, because it’s high time I start working on my yard at the house we actually live in.

Entertain yourself with this movie trailer (thank you, Jill Monroe for posting it first.) I am totally STOKED about this movie. Normally, I don’t get the whole musical thing…but I totally get Mamma Mia. And with Pierce Brosnan and Colin Firth? Mamma Mia indeed.

happy Vday 2008

This year’s Valentine’s Day Savage Chickens

My blog traffic has been crazy these past few days, thanks to last year’s Valentine’s Day post from Savage Chickens so I thought I’d make this an annual deal. And hey, all you Mel-O-Drama virgins, stick around. Sometimes I’m not boring.

For all you folks who celebrate Vday…hope it’s a lovely day.

Hey Fishdog: 897

dirty dancing

I’ve admitted over and over that Dirty Dancing is my favorite movie ever. I know, how low brow of me…whatever. I love that movie. I love the chemistry between Baby and Johnny, I love the dancing, I love the campy dialogue, I love the movie.

Last night, I flipped on the tv as I was going to bed, and low and behold, Baby and Johnny were steaming it up in my favorite scene.

Don’t judge me. Join me.

monday, monday

Good Monday Mornin’ to ya!

What’s going on today? Well, I’m going to start working on a new YA story. It’s a great idea and I love the main character already. I used my trip home from Kansas City to brainstorm quite a bit and now I’m going to sit down and see if I can hammer out a chapter. Or two.

I have to tell you, I am completely shocked by the number of people who commented on my author photos post. Thank y’all so much. I am also completely shocked by how many of you guys chose the serious hand shot photo. It was totally my throw-away picture. I like it, but I am NEVER going to have a “hand shot-head shot” as my author photo. Those are soooooo overdone. And most times, they are so cheesy, my cholesterol goes up 50 points just looking at them. Aside from the fact that I don’t want a “hand shot-head shot” as my author photo–the picture is also too serious. I wanted something that is warm and fun. So I went with a smile. Deidre was right…I needed something less serious for my target audience.

This picture was probably my all time favorite, but it’s a little too dark and there’s a bit of a flash on my glasses, so it didn’t make it into the final countdown.

My weekend in KC was great, but I am glad to be home. I spent a lot of time with two of my best friends. We ate some great food, did some shopping, and drank a little bit too much. It was almost perfect.

For today’s entertainment, I’m posting my new favorite video. You totally need to watch it. Sarah Silverman is funny as shit…but so is Matt Damon. And if you love Matt Damon…you’ll love him even more after watching this. If you don’t love Matt Damon (what is wrong with you?) then you’ll at least have a newfound respect for him. This was my theme song for the weekend. It’s a very catchy tune. Seriously, watch the video. Totally worth it.

another milestone in this publishing biz


Today, I get my author photos taken. How cool is that?

These photos will be in my author promo kit the publisher will be sending out to booksellers, etc. You know, to create buzz. So my picture has to be buzz-inspiring.

I could wear a bee costume. Of course then I would just look like the “bee girl” from that Blind Melon video, all growed up. I’m not sure that’s the kind of buzz I want to create. (btw, I loved that video and I related so much to bee girl when that song came out. I wonder whatever happened to her)

Anyway, stay tuned for some pics. Probably, I’ll have you guys vote…and maybe I’ll listen. You never know with me.

Here enjoy the video while you wait…