*yawn*

Writing yesterday was pseudo successful. I fell short of my goal pages for the day, but I also wound up with a few unscheduled hours being taken away from me. Which is life. I knew there would be about 3 hours I couldn’t write, it wound up being about 6 by the end of the day.

So I’m up at the ass crack of dawn today. I just brewed my coffee, checked my emails, and doing this here little blog for you guys (so selfless) then I’m hitting it. I will take a break for a run or to go to the gym (depends on how cold it is today) but other than that, my butt will be firmly planted in my chair, my hands will be on the keyboard, and I will be a writing machine. It will be amazing. The boom you’ll hear will be me, breaking the sound barrier.

date weekend

I have a date with my computer this weekend. We’re going to be spending a lot of QT together, plotting, storytelling, and maybe even getting on each others’ nerves a bit. But it must be done. So I’m firing up my iTunes, sticking in my headphones and hitting the keyboard. If my computer cooperates, I might even let him go to second base. (especially if iTunes sets the mood by playing some Barry White…)

In the mean time, HobbitGrrl has offered some fantastic marathon advice for n00bs over at FCR. Really great advice. Now I feel at least somewhat prepared for that very scary event, which is only 1 month, 2 weeks, and 5 days away. Not that I’m counting.

If you haven’t been keeping up with my fitness status over at FCR, I’m down 13 lbs, have lost 1 full size, and am now able to run 2 miles on pavement without stopping. Still a long way from 6 but hey, I’ll get there. It’s sure a lot better than the struggling I was doing over my first 60 second run a few months ago. 🙂 Also, I’m finally to the point that I actually want to go workout. This is a new thing for me…I missed a week to let my foot heal and I was really cranky. (I know, know! Who am I and what have I done with the real Mel?) Don’t worry, the real Mel is fine. She’s off on some island with a gaggle of red-heads servicing her every need…

music, music, I hear music!

Before we get to my regularly scheduled blog below, I wanted to let y’all know my BFF and critique partner is blogging about how she came up with her Bunco series idea and sold it. Pop over (after you read my blog, of course) and check it out!

Now on to our regularly scheduled blog…
————————————————–
This morning, I woke up singing Kokomo.

Does this happen to anyone other than me?

I wake up EVERY morning singing a song. Rarely is it a song I listened to during the day before or one that I go to bed singing. It’s always some random song that pops into my head as I’m getting out of bed. Trust me, I don’t sing Kokomo. Ever. Except when it pops into my head in the mornings.

I’ve noticed this phenomenon a lot lately and I’ve wondered WTF?

Tuesday when I woke singing Springsteen’s Land of Hope and Dreams, I didn’t think anything about it. That made total sense. Actually, my mind drifted between that song and another Springsteen song (Better Days) all day. My subconscious was there for me all day Tuesday.

But really, when I woke Wednesday singing Jessie’s Girl and I woke yesterdasy singing I Touch Myself (actually, I wake up singing that one quite a bit…) I wondered if I really WANT to know what my subconscious is thinking.

Other songs I’ve recently woken up to:

  • Witchy Woman (okay, I get this)
  • Gold Digger (yeah, I’m not even kidding)
  • Sweet Home Alabama (um?)
  • So Fresh, So Clean (okay, I do sing this one after I shower. Can’t help myself.)
  • Turning Japanese
  • Ain’t Missing You (Dude, I do love me some John Waite)
  • Where It’s At? (I got, two turntables and a microphone)
  • Controversy (yeah, Prince. Old Skool Prince. I did love that album in high school)

So there you go. Mel’s personal wake up playlist. It’s probably a good thing I don’t have theme music that follows me everywhere I go…

And today from The Universe:

Baby steps spark miracles, Melissa.

Miracles do not spark baby steps.

Ungawa,
The Universe

Damn skippy, U.

So, if y’all had a theme song, what would it be? Or even better, what would your playlist be? Happy Friday y’all!

a mish mash

First of all, I’m back to blogging over at FCR. I took a week off due to a pain in my foot. The pain is still there, but it’s better. Yesterday I bought new shoes and it was quite the experience. If you get a chance, pop over and read about it. Sometimes I’m kinda funny. It’s true.

Speaking of funny, is it weird that almost everyday somebody tells me that I’m funny? I mean, I know I have a good sense of humor and I know I crack myself up on a daily basis, but really am I that funny? Or does funny mean something else to these folks? Are they calling me ironic? (Okay, that would be kinda funny) Maybe they’re leaving out a word. “Mel you _______ funny.” (It’s Mad Libs Time! insert verb) smell, run, walk, look, need, want, crave, talk, sound, mother, write… The possibilities are endless.

Rapid topic change:
Have you ever had one of those days that you know you must look really good because of the way people look at you? Yesterday was one of those days for me. Seriously, was almost disconcerting. Every woman complimented something about my outfit and most of the men did that eye thing. Ladies, you know that eye thing I’m talking about don’t you? The one that men think we don’t see when they do it? It’s an eye flit of sorts and it’s so funny cuz they think they’re being so subtle. Especially when they like what they see and their ears turn red. Or they cock a brow. Or they smile with a different kinda smile…

Dear [most] Men,
You’re about as subtle as a dog with a pork rib. Stop that.
Yours Truly,
Mel

Rapid topic change:
Last night, I was all primed to watch the season premiere of LOST. I need my Sawyer, Desmond, and Sayid fix in a major way. But do you know what my local dumbass, good-for-nothing, two-timing ABC station did? They preempted LOST for the Auburn/Kentucky basketball game! Listen, I love me some SEC sports, but you don’t preempt the season premiere of LOST for a freaking NON-LOCAL sporting event. Fishdog has encouraged me to write a letter. I’ve had some letter writing success in the past, but I don’t really see the purpose this time. It’s not like they can undo yesterday’s damage. Sigh.

Okay, enough for now. Y’all have a great day, and I’ll see you this afternoon. No LOST SPOILERS! Talk amongst yourselves and when I get home from work, I’ll be sure to play.

40 at 40


I turn 40 this year. That’s a pretty momentous occasion so I’m going to ring in this decade with style.

I’ve decided to rip off a friend of mine who did a “50 at 50” list and make myself a list of 40 things to do at 40 but I need your help because I don’t know if I can come up with 40 things. Here’s what I’ve got so far:

<–20-something Mel

39 year old Mel–>


40 at 40

  1. Run a 10K
  2. Train for and run a half-marathon
  3. Get a tattoo
  4. Visit a place I’ve never been before
  5. Get waxed (Legs, pits and um…yeah. I’m gonna go there. All the way there. That will be some blog…)
  6. Meet with a financial planner
  7. See a professional (insert sport here) game
  8. See Staind in concert
  9. See Springsteen in concert (now that I’ve been properly recruited into his cult fanclub. However, I really shouldn’t add this to my list because I’m afraid that my recruiter’s ego can’t handle another stroke)
  10. Lose 2 sizes
  11. Buy myself a nice piece of jewelry
  12. Get a passport
  13. Visit NY (yes, this could also be the “visit a place I’ve never been before,” but NY deserves its own line)
  14. Skinny dip in the ocean
  15. Go deep sea fishing
  16. Teach my son how to drive a stick
  17. Take a shot (or 2) of Patron (in the comfort and safety of friends who can handle Mel-on-Tequila. Have never had Patron but have been assured by many that it will change my life. It will definitely change the life of the people who witness this event, I can promise you that.)
  18. Take an unplanned road trip (although does putting that on my list make it a plan?)
  19. Get a housekeeper (at least once a month)
  20. Take up SLR photography again
  21. Write a short story or novella (never done this, dunno if I can!)
  22. Go camping in the mountains
  23. Plant a new gardenia bush
  24. Steal a summer kiss at sunset
  25. Take a winter vacation somewhere snowy
  26. Face time with each of my out-of-state friends
  27. Try at least 1 type of new (to me) food
  28. Go golfing (took lessons a few years ago but never made it to a golf course)
  29. Write a letter (not an email, a letter. To a friend or a family member. Someone who will appreciate the effort and hopefully someone who can decipher my chicken scratch.)
  30. Have a book launch party 😀
  31. Finish this list (for Marcus)

Okay, I’m only at 30, but if I complete THIS list, I think I’ll be doing pretty damn well. What do you think? Have any suggestions?

Land of Hope and Dreams

If my friend hadn’t introduced me to Bruce Springsteen a few weeks ago, I would never have heard this song…and boy would I have been missing out. This song fills me.

He says its the perfect song for a liberal [like me]. *rolling eyes* I find it the perfect song for people everywhere. People who are hurting and need a change. People who need something to carry them into a new life. A life where they can dream, wish, hope, work, imagine and feel safe. A place where they can find something better for their children or for themselves. This song fills me with the light of hope . And trust me when I tell you, the light of hope has carried me through many a dark night.

Today is about hope for me. And dreams.

the races

It was a big day Friday. I won several races, but not like my friend DeeDee. she was up $500 by the end of the day. 2 longshos came in for her in a big way.

I almost considered not going but decided against it. I wouldn’t have written anything worthwhile–I would’ve just sat there, staring at my screen pouting because I wasn’t at the races.

Here are some more pics:




There’s always a cast of characters every year. This year, the pimp in the white fur was back, plus we me these lovely ladies. We see them every year, sporting a new hat…this year, we had to stop them.

This year, instead of meeting the obligatory drunk cowboy, we met a group of drunk Latinos. Who followed us everywhere the last half hour saying, “Picture, picture!” Finally we relented and they kept trying to kiss us.

The look on my face says it all…

Hope y’all had a great weekend. Did y’all do anything special this weekend (besides miss me, of course?)

weekend update

The races were a blast. More tomorrow. Here’s a little sneak peek though:

This is my favorite picture. Awesome.


Last night was supposed to be a low-key evening with two of my friends from college. Unfortunately, what it ended up being for me was a battle with bad shrimp. About 20 minutes after I started eating dinner, I knew something very bad was about to happen. Fishdog brought me home, and the war began. I’m much better today.

Hope y’all have had a great weekend. I’m writing, writing, writing today. Leave a message after the beep.

*beeeeeeeeeeeeeeep*

and they’re OFF!

Last year, there was much gnashing of teeth over photo finishes. I won one. Lost the others. Overall was win-win, but that had less to do with the money and more to do with the friends and the booze.

The horses are magnificent. When you go to the races, you should totally watch at least one actual race. And bet on a grey. Just because I said so. I also tend to bet on names. Despite some reports to the contrary, I am a girl. Sorry. I don’t have a penis, no matter how much I like to control the remote, hate bridal and wedding showers, and would rather wear a t-shirt and flip-flops over makeup and stilettos. (fuck stilettos. Totally created by men to torture women.)

Pimps and hos. Really, do I need to say anything else?

Every year has been a blast. This year, there are six of us, plus a driver. Yes, we’ve hired a driver. It’s really better that way. And we feel special when the car picks us up. This year, it’s a Navigator. Must be sure to wear my bling. As long as by bling I mean wool. Damn it’s cold today. 15 degrees right now. The high is only supposed to be 32. Brrrrrrr.

So while I’m playing with my friends, here’s a video on what true friendship is…watch it. Enjoy it. And tell me afterwards that you didn’t get a little tear. Go on. I dare ya.

Yesterday’s Q of the day: the discussion

Does anyone else find it funny that the majority of yesterday’s answers revolved around food and lounging around?

My answer was a little different. (though I was tempted to steal Lucy’s ‘rob a couple of banks’ idea)

24 hours, on an private island…with a magic man, who could grant my every wish. There would be naughtiness galore. Maybe I would invite Simon Baker, my current not-so-secret-pretend boyfriend and my ex-not-so-secret-pretend boyfriend, Matt Damon. Okay, and maybe 1 or 2 other people. I mean, there’s no consequences, right? No guilt, no worries, just fond memories of a good time.

While on the island, I would go deep sea diving with my not-so-secret-pretend boyfriends and we’d discover a shipwreck…with the largest treasure ever found. I would then be given the private island as a reward. I would name the island in my honor and would require a passport for visitors.

And I would live there happily ever after. You all could visit any time.

What should I name my private island? Mel-o-land?