If you had 24 hours to do whatever you wanted to do and suffer no guilt or consequences as a result, what would you do?
Talk amongst yourselves while I’m at work and we’ll chat about it this afternoon.
If you had 24 hours to do whatever you wanted to do and suffer no guilt or consequences as a result, what would you do?
Talk amongst yourselves while I’m at work and we’ll chat about it this afternoon.
So I was digging around in an old box I found in the attic last night. I was looking for an old photo album and what I found was a treasure chest of awesome.
Every note written to me by my friends and boyfriends from 9th grade on. Amazing. Wow. Seriously, Amazing.
I found pictures that were better left buried. And I found my memory book from my Senior Year. hehe. Some memories.
I also found a notebook my Drama teacher made us keep. It was filled with questions we had to answer, and letters we wrote to ourselves. We were to seal the notebook, keep it between our mattresses and then in 10 years, read it.
Well, I read it 10 years after high school. And I read it again last night. Wow. Seriously. I was obsessed with my weight! Totally freaking obsessed! I might’ve weighed 135 lbs soaking wet, but in my mind I was a total cow.
That makes me sad. Especially now, as I am working so hard to undo years of self-destructive eating habits and thoughts. I said the other day that my dad put me on a diet in junior high because I had hips and I had pretty much been on a diet ever since. Well, that was not an exaggeration. Again. that makes me really sad.
We need to teach girls to be healthy but to embrace their bodies for what they are and to love themselves for who they are. I was so insecure. I was always being compared to another girl and that’s the goal I set for myself. To have a body like her. To look like her. To be like her. Too bad nobody took the time to say, “Wrong focus. Be yourself and enjoy it.” I was well into adulthood before that dawned on me.
Another thing that hasn’t changed since 1987 according to this notebook? Two things I liked most about myself were my smile and my personality.
From the Universe today:
Are you so sure it’s not the dancer who creates the music she moves to? Or the painter who manifests the mountains he captures? Or the tycoon who builds the empire before there’s a dime?
Whatever you want, Melissa, let it exist first in your mind, imagine every nuance and consideration, let the walls have substance, the halls have depth, and the money have weight in the palm of your hand, and then all that’s necessary to bring it to pass will be drawn to you.
Sneaky, clever, foxy, wry –
The Universe
I’ll be at work. Y’all have a good one!
I’m kind of a mess right now.
Yesterday was a big bust as a writing day. No focus. My brain is in major meltdown mode. And with the Dreadline looming, I really can’t afford a nookular meltdown of the brain.
Today I have lunch plans with my old high school boyfriend. If I remember, I’ll get a pic and maybe I’ll even post some then and now pictures. Or not. We’ll see. I had a mullet back then. Not sure I’m feeling brave enough to prove it. Ahhh, 1984–how I miss thee.
One of my best friends from college is also in town this week. Plus I’m supposed to do my annual opening day at Oaklawn on Friday with the girls. I’ve set a writing goal to meet by Friday so I can go, so I better get busy. I haven’t missed opening day in 8 years or so? Can’t blow it this year.
I have no idea what my blogs will be like this week. Could be a plenty or my little website could resemble a ghost town. We’ll see. Got any topic ideas you wanna suggest? Who knows, maybe they’ll spark my thinking cap.
It’s Monday, so I’m also over at Fictionistas today. Pop by.
Last week was a busy one. I started a new job, plowed toward the deadline for LOVE SUCKS, worked out 5 days, pretended to be a mother on a couple of days, blogged, went to a party, and worked on a new batch of mojo. Seriously, I am amazing.
Dunno if you’ve been keeping up with my exercising progress at Fat Chicks Running or not, but I’ve been steadily increasing my distance and trying to stop worrying about how fast I’m running. I talked to a couple last night who have been running for 20+ years and they both hammered it into me–what matters is how far you go, not how long it takes you to get there. Fine. Fine. Fine. It’s really hard for me not to try to go faster because of the uber competitive side of my nature. (Which has apparently been dormant for a while but is now back with a vengeance!) So I’m just trying to do slow and steady. I’ve got a long way to go before I can run a 10k. Honestly, I think I still have a long way to go before I can run a 5K. I can walk both (probably faster than I can run them) but I can’t run them…not yet.
I feel great though. I’m down an entire size in a month even though I’ve only lost 12 lbs. Probably because I’m lifting weights as well as running. My legs are freaking rocks right now (well, my thighs are rocks under a large layer of fat…but still…rock baby!) I bought a book called The New Rules of Lifting for Women. I haven’t started reading it yet because I’ve been head down in writing, but I plan to break it out and start reading this week.
Something I’ve noticed since I started really working out daily, I now look forward to it. Never thought that would happen to me. Something kinda just clicked about 2 weeks ago and my mindset changed. Instead of cussing my way through the 45 minutes on the elliptical, I was just doing it. And thinking. Or not thinking (which is really nice. My mind never seems to shut down, so I totally embrace anything that gives it a break.) It’s honestly one of my favorite parts of the day now. Yes, I said it. Write it down. And remind me of that if I fall off the wagon again.
One thing I know I’m not doing right is eating enough. I think I’m only taking in about 1000 calories a day, and I know I need more, but I can’t seem to make myself eat more now. But I don’t want my body to adjust to such a low calorie intake. Not sure how to work that one out yet. I did allow myself a junk food lunch yesterday, and while the cheese dip was good, it wasn’t all that. Guess my mindset really is changing.
This week should be very similar to last week. Writing, working, running, mothering, blogging, lunching, and mojoing. You got your week figured out yet? Happy Sunday!
Stole this blogthings quiz from Kwana.
You Should Be a Joke Writer |
![]() You’re totally hilarious, and you can find the humor in any situation. Whether you’re spouting off zingers, comebacks, or jokes about life… You usually can keep a crowd laughing, and you have plenty of material. You have the makings of a great comedian – or comedic writer. |
Also, I posted a blog last night about determining sex appeal. Weigh in!
Or even smexy. Nothing better than smart and sexy…but I digress.
What is sexy?
Main Entry:
sexy Listen to the pronunciation of sexy
Pronunciation:
\ˈsek-sē\
Function:
adjective
Inflected Form(s):
sex·i·er; sex·i·est
Date:
1925
1 : sexually suggestive or stimulating : erotic 2 : generally attractive or interesting : appealing
— sex·i·ly Listen to the pronunciation of sexily \-sə-lē\ adverb
— sex·i·ness Listen to the pronunciation of sexiness \-sē-nəs\ noun
So let’s discuss.
Agree or disagree? Sexy is determined by the looker not the lookee? (make sense? I am on my 3rd drink, so this may be considered a drunk blog before it’s all over. My bad.)
Sexy or Sex Appeal is determined by the person forming the opinion. Not the object of the opinion. It doesn’t matter if I think I’m a frumpy old woman, if someone else looks at me and says, “Damn that bitch is sex-on-a-stick!” then I totally am. yes or no?
OR do you think that sexy is the state of mind of the person being looked at. ‘I feel sexy therefore I am?’ Now, I’m not discounting the sex appeal of anyone who feels sexy. Seriously, I can tell a difference on the nights I feel smoking hot and the nights I just feel put together. Guys (and girls) notice the difference. But I think that’s a confidence thing, more than anything. I don’t think that has anything to do with ‘am I sexy or am I just a goofball?’ mentality.
Personally, I find confidence sexy as hell. You can be the biggest nerd on earth, but if you’re confident (and maybe just a little cocky, I do have a weakness) I’ll think you’re sexy. So if you don’t think of yourself as sexy, does that make me wrong?
Talk amongst yourselves. Would love to hear your thoughts on this…
It’s been a while since I did a blog about the terms that people search to find my website. Apparently, the reporter/ex-Little House on the Prairie Melissa Francis has been busy lately, because I’ve gotten some interesting searches–and a lot of these are coming from financial institutions such as Dean Witter, AIG, Siebert, RBC Capital Investments, etc.
Anyway, here are some of the most recent ‘google’ terms. Let’s discuss:
melissa francis hot: why thank you.
melissa francis nude: not at the moment. Please come back later.
melissa francis breasts: I don’t leave home without them. Sometimes you will even find them on this blog.
melissa milf: working on it.
melissa francis sexy: you’re making me blush.
melissa francis cleavage: see breasts
melissa francis pictures naked: there may or may not be one or two of those floating around. On paper. Never on the interwebs. Sorry to disappoint.
melissa francis shut up: I hear that a lot.
sex sleeb: Do I even want to KNOW what this is and why it brought you to my blog?
melissa francis boobs: I know the girls are awesome, but wow. You folks are obsessed. See breasts.
melissa francis author: I love these searches because I know they are act
ually looking for me!
melissa francis feet: Is this what you’re looking for? Can you pick mine out?
why is melissa francis a bitch: you meant witch, right? People have been searching for this answer for as long as I remember. Maybe you’ll win a prize if you find out.
melissa francis gifts: always encouraged and accepted
fucking melissa francis: I have very high standards, I am afraid you’ve failed to meet them.
melissa francis has nice boobs: Thanks! I think so.
some thing naughty: you will find plenty of naughty on this blog. And some nice, too.
“melissa francis naked”: see nude.
Melissa Francis cheerleader: Rah Rah Ree. Or whatever. I don’t cheer. But I will wear the uniform if you ask nicely.
melissa francis birthday: March 14. See gifts
Melissa Francis legs: I have them, they’re attached to the feet in the picture.
melissa francis ugly feet: Uh, I beg to differ!
hot librarian: So I’ve been told.
Bite Me francis: Yay! someone looking for my book! Coming fall 2009. Check back often.
what kind of income does melissa francis make: Not enough.
melissa francis awful: I’m really not that bad, once you get to know me.
melissa francis annoying: I can honestly say, I’ve never been called annoying before. I’ve decided I don’t like it. You’re banned from my blog.
Happy Friday, y’all. I was supposed to have lunch with my boyfriend from high school today, but we rescheduled for Monday because he got called away to Nashville for business. So now I’m just going to write. And go running at some point. It’s supposed to be warm again today, so maybe I can run outside again, like I did yesterday.
Have a great weekend! What are your plans?
This Meme has been making the Facebook rounds and I’ve been tagged a couple of times, so I figured I’d kill two birds with 1 stone and post it as a blog–which automatically imports to my FB page. I iz smart.
Now, let’s see if I can come up with 16 things y’all don’t already know. Or maybe I should make that 16 things I can publish on the internetz…there are some things that just need to remain a secret or told only in private.
I’m not tagging anyone. You wanna play, please do and let me know.
Anything here surprise y’all?
Literally. I started a job this week. I’ll be working 3 days a week in accounting. I really like the company and the people I’m working with.
But being back in the corporate environment after taking an 18 month hiatus is a little strange. This is what I’ve discovered so far:
I’m actually really glad to be back at work. I’ve missed people. I’ve missed conversation. I’ve also missed the steady paycheck.
Today’s note from the Universe:
It’s the exact same for me, Melissa. My love goes unreturned, I feel completely unappreciated, or some clown starts telling me what’s wrong with the world (my world!). And so, I have to remind myself that I am the Universe, that this is an adventure, and that one day they will come to know the errors in their thinking. And, not that it matters at all, but I secretly hope that on that day I just happen to be carried past them, sitting in my processional throne, followed by throngs of admirers, with all the Angels singing, “We are the champions, my friends…”
Melissa, you are the Universe, this is an adventure, and they will learn.
Tallyho,
The Universe
Seriously, how much do I love the Universe?
This has been a music kinda week here at Mel-O-Drama.
So, I try to create a playlist for each book. Sometimes, it’s one song that takes me through and sometimes it’s a 3 disc compilation.
LOVE SUCKS! is angsty, angry, a little sexy and a whole lotta vampy. There’s some sweaty training scenes, some sneaking around, some back-stabbing, a little innuendo…you know, typical teen stuff with fangs added in for fun. Oh, and we can’t forget the love triangle.
Here’s what I have so far.
There are a couple more songs that I think are going to make it to my playlist, but this is what I’ve collected so far. What do you think?