a mish mash

It’s been one of those mornings, even though I slept great last night, I’m having a hard time moving.

Could be b/c I walked for 100 1.5 hours w/ my friend Jenn last night. I needed the exercise, the stress of the past three weeks has been weighing me down.

Jenn and I usually meet between 7:30 & 7:45 at the bridge, but last night, it got really dark, really fast. I might be ready for fall weather, but I am NOT ready for fall darkness. Not yet. I like my long days dammit!

*there will be spoilers*
Can we talk about True Blood for a second? Okay, I’m pretty much over Bill and Sookie but that Eric (or is it Erik since he’s a viking?) I’m soooo never going to be over him. Holy Moly that man has depth. (the actor not the character…tho the character does have great complexities wh/ makes me lurve him) The scenes with he and Godric broke my heart. (and yes, I loved me some Godric, too. I really wanted them to do more with that character) And I thought the scene with Sookie and Eric was beautiful–she didn’t bug me there. And that dream with Sookie and Eric? OMGYUM. And I frankly LOVED how bad Eric can be…when he conned Sookie into sucking out the silver–that smile on his face was priceless. Bill should never have made Sookie so off-limits. We always want what we can’t have…

I totally cried like a baby when Godric was on the roof. The scene between he and Eric and the scene b/t he and Sookie really choked me up. I like how she’s connected to Eric and I really hope being connected to him will add another dimension to her. She’s still too goody-goody right now.

BTW: does anyone else wonder why the hell that dude was able to get into the house rigged with a bomb when Sookie was there? Why on earth didn’t she hear his thoughts? I mean, is she no longer a mind reader?

I’m getting a little tired of the creepy Mary Ann story line. I’m ready for that to wrap up. It’s exhausting. But I’m curious to see how they get rid of her. She’s awful. And can I just say, those solid black eyes make me sick to my stomach? ick.

I’ve not read the books, so I’m enjoying the series for what it is. I think maybe I’ll read the books once this season is over. I know they’ve taken lots of liberties with the storyline, I’m curious to see how many.

Also Mad Men is back! I can’t wait to dive in! I heart On Demand.

Any TV shows out there that have you excited?

getting back to it

Routine…I have a love/hate relationship with it.

Routine can often mean rut and frankly, I’m not the kinda girl who is okay with being in a rut. Change is good for the soul.

However, routine can also mean order, consistency, and a clean(er) house. I AM very much ready for that.

Sent Ian off to school today. It is his first day as a Sophomore and for this member of the Francis family, it is also the first day of getting back on a routine.

This summer has been a whirlwind of waking up, doing stuff, and going to bed. There has been no routine. It was a nice break, but after 10 weeks, it’s time for the break to be over. I mean, I even fell out of laundry routine! Clean and folded clothes are highly overrated.

The last 2 days I spent cleaning out Ian’s room. Yes, I’m aware he should be doing this, but frankly, I wanted it done right the first time…Now his room is actually cleaner than mine. (mainly b/c I have 3 baskets of laundry that need to be folded. I promise, it’s on my to do list!)

Today we work on Rader’s room, my room and my desk. The desk area gets a little out of hand during edits/revisions. Plus it also becomes the cemetery for the things I take out of Ruby’s mouth. Like applesauce containers, Mountain Dew bottles, my wallet (she takes my purse off the chair and gets into it when she’s mad at me) chapstick, chewed up pencils and pens.

Do you guys keep a routine during the summer or take a break. Which do you think is better? I’m not a structure girl by any stretch, but I’m beginning to think maybe I need a bit more in my life. Or maybe I just need a fairy godmother…

fine! I’ll play

I have been tagged 100 times on FB, so finally I’ve decided to pay. I hope you’re happy.

You’ve been tagged and now you have the honor of copying all these goofy questions, writing your own response, and tagging some other victims. You have to tag me. If I tagged you, it’s because I want to know more about you, my friend.

To do this, go to “notes” under tabs on your profile page, paste these instructions in the body of the note, type your title as “Getting to know each other!”, tag some people including me (tagging is done in the right hand corner of the app) then click publish.

1. What time did you get up this morning?
5:09

2. How do you like your steak?
Medium Rare

3. What was the last film you saw at the cinema?
“Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince.” And my crush on Ron Weasley is even bigger than ever!

4. What is your favorite TV show?
It’s hard to say b/c I love TV. Royal Pains, Leverage, Raising the Bar, LOST, Family Guy, Top Chef, Hell’s Kitchen

5. If you could live anywhere in the world where would it be?
The Beach. Probably near Daytona if I couldn’t have my own island

6. What did you have for breakfast?
Key Lime Yogurt

7. What is your favorite cuisine?
Pizza or cheese dip or steak. Hard to decide.

8. What foods do you dislike?
raw.

9. Favorite Place to Eat?
Um….do they serve food? then I like them

10. Favorite dressing?
Bleu Cheese

11.What kind of vehicle do you drive?
a damn old-ass honda civic hatchback

12. What are your favorite clothes?
flip-flops and my long red maxi-dress

13. Where would you visit if you had the chance?
New Zealand

14. Cup 1/2 empty or 1/2full?
1/2 full. Unless it’s wine and then it’s probably empty because I drank it. <—not my answer but totally applies to me!!!

15. Where would you want to retire?
Florida

16. Favorite time of day?
Sunset

17. Where were you born?
Little Rock, AR

18. What is your favorite sport to watch?
College football

19. Who do you think will not tag you back?
Who Cares!?

20. Person you expect to tag you back first?
Seriously, why is this a question?

21. Who are you most curious about their responses to this?
Everyone, actually.

22. Bird watcher?
Um….I’m 40 not 80. I notice birds but don’t like actively watch them.

23. Are you a morning person or a night person?
Night.

24. Pets?
tons. apparently I was Noah in a former life.

25. Any new and exciting news that you’d like to share?
Have you bought my book yet? If not, Why? Seriously? http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/0061430986/ref=kinw_rke_tl_1

26. What did you want to be when you were little?
either a vet or a soap actress. Go figure…

27. What is your best childhood memory?
4 leaf clovers.

28. Are you a cat or dog person?
both. why must we choose?

29. Always wear your seat belt?
Always.

30. Been in a car accident?
yup. 1 was my fault, the other 2? Not so much.

31. Any pet peeves?
I despise insecure women…they give the rest of us a bad name. I also hat ‘repeaters.’ People who repeat everything you say and nod their heads like they totally get it. and I hate it when people can’t get to the point.

32. Favorite pizza topping?
I’m a veggie girl!

33. Favorite Flower?
Daisy

34. Favorite ice cream?
Mint Chocolate Chip

35. Favorite fast food restaurant?
Um…. Not really sure here.

36. How many times did you fail your driver’s test?
never

37. From whom did you get your last email?
My friend Dee Dee

38. Which store would you choose to max out your credit card?
Lowes

39. Do anything spontaneous lately?
Yes. Don’t ask.

40. Like your job?
Yes.

41. Broccoli?
steamed. Yes.

42. What was your favorite vacation?
beach. Period.

43. Last person you went out to dinner with?
Dee Dee

44. What are you listening to right now?
George Straight: Living for the Night

45. What is your favorite color?
Hot Pink

46. How many tattoos do you have?
one, but it’s really big…

47.How many are you tagging for this quiz?
stupid question. I don’t know.

48. What time did you finish this quiz?
9:52 pm

49. Coffee Drinker?
DUH

50. Do have a secret?
Don’t we all?

BITE ME Oxford!

At long last, here are some pics from my signing in Oxford, Mississippi with @Stacey_Jay.

Me and Stacey

My youngest fan!

I’m having trouble getting blogger to upload pics today, so for the entire album, please go here: Bite Me Oxford!

lines that inspire

Last night, I was watching one of my new favorite TV shows Leverage (I love On Demand) and one of the characters made a comment that really struck home for me.

“He deserves to be seen as he really is. Everyone does.”

I love that line. The truth in it is so simple and elegant, yet very powerful.

A quote that I often use as my mantra is from Mel Brooks:

“If you’re quiet, you’re not living. You’ve got to be noisy and colorful and lively.

I’m not really sure who said this next quote, but I got it from a signature of a friend who emailed me not long ago:

Life is short. Break the rules. Forgive quickly. Love truly. Laugh uncontrollably & regret nothing that makes you smile.

No truer words were spoken there.

Is there a particular quote or line from a book that inspires you?

I leave you with one final Mel Brooks quote. The man is amazing:

Every human being has hundreds of separate people living under his skin. The talent of a writer is his ability to give them their separate names, identities, personalities and have them relate to other characters living with him.

it is done. Definitely.

August 2007 we put our house in Oxford on the market. It was a lovely house. We’d renovated it, worked on it, loved it…we hired a girl who was a part-time Realtor (didn’t know that at the time) and a single mom of two. I personally thought she’d be a go getter.

She overpriced our home and didn’t sell it. Once a house has been marked as overpriced, it’s really hard to get people to look at it, even when you reprice it to right number. Another Realtor and a year later, we finally took it off the market and rented it for 6 months.

This time around, we made a much better choice. Our house sold in 3 months and even though we didn’t come out ahead (how could we after 2 years?) we now no longer own a home in Oxford, Miss.

I will miss that house (especially my awesome kitchen) but I said goodbye to it a long time ago. Now it’s someone else’s home. I hope they love it as much as we did.

back again! Sorta…



Went to Oxford for an awesome signing on Saturday. Returned Sunday. Headed back today to finally close on the house we’ve been trying to sell for 2 years. Yes. It’s true. Thank you, Universe.

I’m over at Fictionistas today talking about signs and local customs. You won’t wanna miss it. Here, let me give you a preview of my favorite street sign ever:

My life according to Staind

this is a facebook meme that seemed kinda fun. So I played.

THE RULES: Using only song names from ONE ARTIST, cleverly answer these questions. Pass it on to 15 people you like and include me. You can’t use the band I used. Try not to repeat a song title. It’s a lot harder than you think! Repost as “my life according to (band name)”

Pick your Artist:
Staind

Are you a male or female:
Me

Describe yourself:
Devil

How do you feel:
Lost Along the Way

Describe where you currently live:
Home

If you could go anywhere, where would you go:
Outside

Your favorite form of transportation:
Falling

Your best friend is:
Right Here

You and your best friends are:
Schizophrenic Conversations

What’s the weather like:
Raining Again

Favorite time of day:
Tonight

If your life were a TV show, what would it be called:
All I Want

What is life to you:
Everything Changes

Your fear:
Suffocate

What is the best advice you have to give:
Believe

Thought for the Day:
Nothing Left to Say

How you would like to die:
The Way I Am

Your soul’s present condition:
Raw

Your motto:
Fill Me Up

going back to O-town…

Get your mind out of the gutter. I swear.

This weekend, fellow Arkansas YA Author Stacey Jay (she writes the best little zombie books around) and I (is that proper grammar? I just doesn’t sound right…I know, I’m the writer, I should know these things, but I’m tired, have had only 1 cup of coffee, and am not firing on all cylinders yet.) Anyway…WE will be in Oxford, Miss. this weekend.

There may be one slight change–it is possible that we’ll be at OFF Square Books instead of Jr. So if we’re not at one, we’re at the other. The good news is, they’re only a block away from each other so really, it’s not biggie.

I’m looking forward to being back in Oxford. I miss my pals and the kids there. I know my boys are happy to be going back for a night. It will be a fun time all around. I hope y’all are ready because I plan to make all of you stay and play. It’s a rule…and since I’m the Queen, you have to obey.

Hope to see you all there!