save the drama for your momma

Sigh.

Rader is a bit of a drama queen so when he yells and cries, we never know how serious it is. He is the king of “crying wolf” over being hurt. (when he wants attention. When he’s in his own world, he can break his nose and never stop moving. We know this to be true because it has happened…)

So tonight when he started howling and bellowing and hopping around, we were slow to react. But then the howling and bellowing got louder and had a sharp intensity to it that told me “Hm. Maybe this time he did something.”

I run down the stairs where Fishdog is already hovering over Rader yelling “TELL ME WHAT YOU DID. WHAT DID YOU DO! WHERE DOES IT HURT!” So we have Fishdog yelling and Rader bellowing and Ruby bouncing around like it’s the fucking Pug Day Parade and I’m not sure if I need to laugh or cry with Rader.

Apparently he stumped his toe while playing with Ruby. It’s bleeding at the base of his toenail (which is sadly in need of trimming). I’m worried it might be broken because it’s almost doubled in size and Rader is still in pain (it’s been almost an hour). We’ve iced it, propped it up, and he’s taken some Advil. I’ve called the doctor’s office and we have an appt. tomorrow, just in case.

Seriously, it’s gonna suck if his toe is broken. He’s playing AAU Basketball this summer, is trying out for Classic Soccer starting next week, and was supposed to have 2 soccer camps this month. Poor boy is screwed if his big toe is broken.

Here are some pics. If you don’t like feet pictures, look no further. (Maria, this means you.)

more evidence

As evident by my headache yesterday morning, many of these were consumed.

as the night went on, we saw many more of these faces.

Ian spent a lot of time pretending he didn’t like the attention.

Rader ate up the attention
As did his daddy

and after a large round of drunk blogging


and boob action (proof Blake did get in on the action, despite his claims to the contrary)

a good time was had by all. Totally worth the slight headache. (Which was gone after 4 Advil and a big heaping mound of Mexican food.)

dudes. internet friends are awesome

Okay, so I’ve been friends with Robyn (aka Birdrunner) for a very long time. Like since 1994. She and Fishdog were pals in high school and Fishdog was in her wedding. It’s awesome. You should see his awesome hair from 1991.

Anyway…

I’ve also met her sister, Lee (aka Stinkydog) via the internet…and guess who I’m hanging out with right now?

Heeeeeeere’s Stinky!

oh mang. It’s bad. We’ve veen drinking margs since oh, I dunno about 5:14pm. I met Mel at 5:30 and she immediately pressed her breasteses against mine and we realized right away that she had the upper hand. Obvy, she has the superior brain (and boobs… says Mel–you be the judge). Her sons are territorial and will not let me get within 8-10 feet. Her husband has obvious envy against my superior margarita making skills. Her brother-in-law (my god bro, btw) has not showed up yet. We’re thinking about holding it against him.

I feel that all is equalized with tequila. Am I wrong?

SEX and the CITY

It was like going home to old friends. I really think that overall, they did right by the series with this movie. I will see it again in the theater…possibly two more times.

Honestly, I loved it. I have one little nit that I won’t discuss here because frankly, I don’t wanna spoil it. Just know that even though it’s a 2 and a half hour movie, it’s worth every second. They didn’t rush the plot (for the most part) and they really gave each character her story. It was emotional and funny and heartbreaking and worth every second in the theater.
Go see it. You won’t be sorry. And if you can, go see it with friends.

Oh, and one more thing…I always wondered which character I was…I always identified a lot with Samantha–and I considered myself a toned down version of her…but last night, I realized, I’m Miranda. Sigh. I think I always knew that about myself, but didn’t wanna see it. LOL

Which character do you think you are most closely in-line with?

hot mess friday #2

Today we have two, that’s right TWO, hot messes for one. The first hot mess is not a celebrity–well, not yet anyway. With the publicity she’s been getting, she’ll be infamous before she knows it. And the 2nd hot mess? Well, he’s a celebrity…and he’s gonna be a baby-daddy.

HOT MESS #1
Deborah L. Smith is a librarian in Poplar Bluff, MO. And like a good cliche, she refused to work the night the library held a promotion for Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, fearing The Boss” would disapprove. (and by The Boss, I mean God, just in case you weren’t with me…). Her job at that function was to empty out bins and restock the books–not actively PROMOTE witchcraft..Unfortunately for Ms. Smith, her paying boss disapproved of her unwillingness to work and fired her.

So what does this newly out of work librarian do? She enlists the help of the ACLU and sues her former boss (not God) and the Library. Yep. That’s right. The ACLU. The very same ACLU who has spent countless hours writing letters to libraries and school districts who refused to stock the Harry Potter books or allow kids to check them out.

2000
Harry Potter series, J.K. Rowling
A Zeeland, Michigan school district banned students in grades K-4 from taking the Harry Potter books out of the school library and required students in grades 5-8 to obtain parental permission before withdrawing the books from the library. The policy also forbade teachers from reading the books out loud during classes. After the ACLU sent letters to the public schools, the district formed a committee to review the issue and rescinded the policy.

Poor Ms. Smith. She’s truly a hot mess. I understand her belief system (well, no I don’t understand it, but she does have a right to her beliefs) however, she was not asked to do anything out of the ordinary for those “witchcraft” books. She was just asked to do her job and was fired when she didn’t. Hmmm. I guess she’s hoping the ACLU will work some magic on her behalf. Oh. No. That’s not right. She’s hoping the ACLU will perform a MIRACLE…not work magic. My bad.

OTOH, maybe the ACLU is the true hot mess here. Pick a side, already! LOL Hmmmm. You decide.

HOT MESS #2
Clay Aiken is gonna be a baby-daddy. Now you might think that’s news enough to qualify him for hot mess Friday, but wait til you read the details.

The mother is Jaymes Foster, who served as executive producer of his new album, On My Way Here, and is a close friend. The site said he stays at her home when he’s in Los Angeles.

Foster, 50, is due in August, and this will be her first child. She is the sister of hit producer David Foster. Aiken is 29.

The best part? Foster was artificially inseminated. I know. You’re shocked.

I have nothing to add to this. I mean, what can I really say? Seriously, I think Hot Mess Friday will just write itself.

recapping my weekend

Luau pictures are 2 posts below. We had about 50 people and kidlets overall. I was a bad photog and forgot to start taking pictures until about 4 hours in. I’ll never be a paparazzi.

Sunday we woke in a haze. It was hot, humid and our house looked like a Frat Bomb had exploded in it. And we’d even straightened up some the night before. We cleaned a little but mostly we just lounged around then took Ian to Wild River Country and Rader to see Indiana Jones. (Okay, is there anyone out there who DIDN’T see IJ this weekend?) Fun movie. Definitely not the best of the series, but totally entertaining.

Monday we finally decided to head up to the lake. I took loads of pictures. It was a gorgeous day but the water was just too cold for my liking! We had a great time soaking up the sun and relaxing.

The house still isn’t back to normal but honestly, I don’t care. LOL It is going to have to wait.