yes i’m name dropping, get over it!

Boy have I missed you. Seriously. Even you. And especially you. *wagging brows* Yes you. Don’t act like you don’t know who I’m talking about.

I got home at midnight last night, hugged the kids, changed the sheets on my bed and fell asleep. I had a tired. I needed to wash the airport grime off of me, but couldn’t even muster the energy for a shower.

This morning it was back to work. Hm. That kinda sucks. I took two days in DC after conference to wind down and not feel rushed getting home, but now I need another day to wind down from traveling.

Okay, really, I just need to win the freaking lottery. Yeah, yeah. Don’t we all.

I plan to post lots of pics this week at some point or another. (must find the time to download…)

Highlights of conference:

Being on a panel with 4 really amazing women: Seriously, these chicks know their stuff. Can’t believe they let me sit on the stage with them. All the feedback we received after the panel was positive, so that’s pretty awesome. Of course, who’s really gonna come up to us and say “That freaking sucked.” But I’m going to ignore that and believe that people told us they loved it because they loved it.

Seeing old friends and meeting new ones: I got to meet Katiebabs! Yay me! And Micki Nuding (who I now have a crush on but must wait in line behind Kitteh because apparently she gets first dibs. Whatever. Rocki will always get first dibs, but then that means I’m at least 3rd in line, so outlook is pretty dismal.) Finally got some face time with Colleen Gleason. I’m pretty sure we’re soulmates. Just ask her. If she says no, she’s just trying to play it cool. And there were many, many others as you will soon see in the upcoming pics. (if I get them downloaded. Sigh)

Being stopped in the hall and hearing: OMG I recognize your tattoo from twitter! Yes, that’s pretty freaking cool.

Being mistaken for Feisty. That is the best compliment ever.

Luncheon with Deidre Knight. I heart my agent.

Meeting Jade Lee. That woman is awesome. Plus she couldn’t keep her hands off my tattoo which makes her my #1 fan. (and not in a creepy Kathy Bates way)

Asking Nora Roberts for directions to the bathroom and seeing the mortified look on this other woman’s face when I did it. What? Nora doesn’t have to pee? Seriously. I had already introduced myself to Nora earlier in the week when I tried to pry her shoes off her wee little feet. So now we’re as tight as Joan Rivers’ face.

Getting a brand new story idea that I can’t wait to write. It’s so awesome. It’s a YA Urban Fantasy and if the idea works like I plan, it will be 3 books. Will commence writing today. Just get ready–you ain’t seen nothing like this!

Assisting Maria Geraci with her first Literacy Signing. (and by “assisting” I mean I was her wine bitch. I was also Robyn Carr’s and Colleen Gleason’s wine bitch as well. I’ll be taking applications for Wine-bitches-in-training for next year’s signing.)

Drag Queen Karoke. Pictures will follow. I sang two songs, (I’ll Think of a Reason Later and Copacabana) both sucked, (I had help so I didn’t suck alone) but I had the best time.

The Harlequin Party. Holy Smokin’Hot Dog was that fun.

This little Greek cafe called Medaterra. I ate there 2 or 3 times I think. It was so damn yummy.

Touring DC with Maria after the conference. By the time we were through, I was a pro at this metro traveling stuff!

There is definitely more, but these are just a few of the things that I truly enjoyed this week. Especially after a bad start on Tuesday. Trust me when I tell you, you just don’t wanna know. It’s laughable now, but on Tuesday? It totally wasn’t. BTW, I just have to give a shout out to Kitteh and Jax for saving me Tuesday. I owe you both, big time.

Today I plan to take my boys to see Harry Potter and then if it will ever stop raining, I’m going to go walking tonight with @jennchrstman. I’m kinda going through withdrawals!

DC day 1 #rwa09

Okay, yesterday was a big blur of grungy travel, poor planning, and sheer exhaustion.

I finally got into my room at 4 after a tiring check-in process. Then I filmed a super sekrit interview which y’all will see soon, but no comment on it until then. Then I had dinner and drinks with Colleen Gleason, Merrilee Whren, and Terrie McLaughlin. Then I had one more glass of wine with Colleen, Janice Lynn, and Lindsey Brooks. But I was tired, so I couldn’t stay awake any longer.

Besides, Maria and I had been two ships passing in the night, so I needed to see her!

I slept hard (thankfully) and am just about raring to go now. Will report in later when things really get rolling.

Oh. just in case you don’t follow me on Twitter… there’s a plunger in the hallway on my floor. I’ve named him Kyle. I’m thinking he may be here for a while…

ugh

it’s currently 2:30 a.m. and I’m awake because of a storm that has descended upon the house. It is crazy mad!

My flight for DC leaves in 4 hours. That sucks because I hate being tired and flying. Oh well, what can I do?

The good news is, I officially have packed a carry on bag only for the conference. Go ahead, be in awe. You should be. I know I am.

I’ll be very busy this week but I promise to update the blog as much as possible. And I’ll be twittering. I promise.

I’m going to try to sleep now.

G/N (or would that be G/M?) blogosphere. Sweet dreams.

too sexy for my shirt

I’m busy finishing edits, doing laundry and packing so I can head off to DC tomorrow for the RWA Conference!

Sorry. Just don’t have time to blog. Here, let me entertain you with this lovely little gem: Monty Python’s Knights of the Round Table, an interpretive dance by the original members of Star Trek…

(video embedded in original post)

Saturday Special

I don’t usually post on Saturdays, but I thought I’d make today extra special. Aren’t you glad?

Random things that make me happy:

1. Good dreams. Last night I had a dream I took a boat trip to the Florida Keys with a friend. I don’t remember a lot of details, other than there were fireworks, margaritas and lots of dancing. I woke up smiling.

2. Guinness. There is nothing like licking the foam of a Guinness off your lips. Or my lips. Whatever.

3. Throwing darts. I’m not very good, but I do it with flair!

4. Music. I have a favorite playlist that I add to here and there. Yesterday I added two songs to it, Chris Young’s Gettin’ You Home and Kim Taylor’s Baby I Need You. (both available on iTunes) Both are great songs. Am considering adding a Guns-n-Roses song today. Oh, and Poker Face by Lady GaGa. I adore that song. Yes, I’m all over the board with my music.

5. Friends. Seriously, I wouldn’t survive without my friends. And I’m very lucky to have both male and female friends who get me and love me for who I am. How sad would it be to not have anyone to lean on?

6. Singing and Dancing. See darts above. I may not be very good but I sure have a good time.

7. Sunrises. If I’m up that early, a beautiful sunrise always makes me happy. I woke at 5:09 this morning and sat outside for a while watching the sun break through the darkness. It was lovely.

8. My kids. Have you seen them? They’re the cutest things ever. How could they not make me happy.

What makes you happy?

silly universe, trix are for kids!

Y’all know I get daily emails from The Universe. Lately dude has been deadly with his goodness. Here’s today’s note:

You know how every once in a while you get that feeling when you feel light as a feather, and YOU KNOW with every fiber of your body that everything is exactly as it should be?

Melissa, that’s exactly how you make me feel.

Tallyho,
The Universe

and at the bottom of the message, there was this little gem:

Melissa, you are on track, you know exactly what to do, and everything is going to be “A OK.”

You better not be foolin’ with me, dude. Got that?

I received some good news yesterday, but I can’t share it yet. (No it’s not a book deal, so don’t go jumping to conclusions.) I will share as soon as I can.

Anything going on with you guys? Big plans for the weekend? Who am I gonna see in DC?

gearing up for RWA

Had a busy work day today, trying to tie up loose ends before next week. You see, I’m going to be gone all next week for the RWA National Conference in DC and I can’t wait. Don’t worry–I’m not going to leave you hanging. There will be tweets and blogs and pictures, OH MY! I’m really hoping for another karaoke night like we had in Dallas, though nothing will ever top Drag Queen Karaoke.

So, can you believe I’ll be on a panel? That’s right…me, Mel Francis will be on a panel. Like an expert. Pretending to know what the hell she’s talking about.

If you’re not meeting with an editor or agent Friday, July 17 from 9:45-10:45 then you’ll want to join us in the room Delaware B for our discussion on I SOLD TO NY…NOW WHAT? and maybe together, we’ll discover the answer.

The panel of experts includes: Maria Geraci, Crystal Jordan, Lilli Feisty, Kate Pearce, Lynn Rae Harris and, of course, me.

Don’t miss it. There’s no telling what this group of miscreants experts will do.

I am also doing a very special interview on Tuesday. Stay tuned for more info about that. You won’t wanna miss it, that’s for sure.

To file away in the ‘has she lost her bleepin’ marbles’ file: I’m thinking of trying to do a carry on bag only. Yes, I’m aware I’ll be there for a full week. Yes, I’m aware I’m a chronic over packer. Yes, I’m aware this probably won’t work. and Yes, I can hear you laughing all the way through the internetz. So glad I have your support.

I’m going as Maria’s +1 (I’m always her +1) to the Berkley party on Friday. That will be fun. And I have a lunch planned with my lovely agent where I plan to worship her like the goddess she is.

What else?

I have plans to finally meet Colleen Gleason (that cyber stalking internet friendship has really paid off) and Book Chic (who is bringing me his copy of my book so I can sign which will be my first official autograph request and seriously I’m all verklempt about it!)

Hmmm. Guess that’s all for right now. Just gotta spend the weekend tweaking final changes/edits on LOVE SUCKS! and get it to awesome editor by Monday so I can be home free for DC!

If you’re planning to be there, let me know! I’d love to connect. I’ll be easy to find: I’m the one with the great cleavage and the very open laugh who will probably be at the bar w/ other women w/ great cleavage and really great laughs. And we’ll be laughing. We’re always laughing.

8 reasons

I didn’t give birth to girls for several reasons. I’m quite sure that Fate knew what the hell she was doing when she kept me from mothering the female gender. You would think that because I’m an awesome female that would automatically make me an awesome mother to a female. Well if that’s what you think, your thinking is flawed.

8 Reasons Mel Did Not Give Birth to Girls:

  1. You know that song that you hear that just speaks to you? It played for the first time during the perfect moment and it just stuck? And you get a rush of love feelings like goosebumps, and flutters, and heart palpitations? (or is that just me?) Well, one of those songs for me when I was younger was MANDOLIN RAIN by Bruce Hornsby. What does this have to do w/ me not having a daughter? I was going to name my daughter Manodlin Rain. I wish I was kidding. I’m not. (I still love the song, BTW)
  2. My favorite color is pink, but there is no way in hell I would dress my little girl in pink unless it was a baseball cap. Or a football jersey.
  3. I would NEVER tape a bow to my baby girl’s bald-ass head. WHY WOULD ANYONE TAPE A BOW TO A BALD HEAD?
  4. I would NEVER put a big flowery headband on my baby girl’s bald-ass head. AGAIN. I JUST DON’T GET THIS.
  5. Just because my child is XX doesn’t mean she can’t learn to drive a boat, shoot a gun (if that’s what you’re into), play football (I had a helluva arm. Still do actually), go frog giggin’, catch crawdads, climb a tree, and get dirty. Apparently I’m in the rare minority of southern mommas who believe this.
  6. If I’d had a daughter, she would’ve been cursed with my hips. Don’t get me wrong, I’m sex-on-a-stick but I wouldn’t wish these hips on anyone. There’s a difference between curvy and dangerous curves ahead. I’m pretty sure my hips put me into the dangerous arena. Mainly because I knock into shit as I walk by; not because they’re so sexy they’re dangerous.
  7. I think super long hair on little girls is a waste of good playing time. I also don’t think girls should have to brush their hair if they don’t want to. I mean, that’s why we have ball caps and ponytails, right?
  8. She would’ve probably also inherited my mouth. It’s bad enough that I have boys with my smart mouth, but really, why would I want to bring another female into this world with the same curse?

I’m sure I could go on, but these are just a few reasons why Fate was smart enough to give me dirty, rotten, stinky (very stinky), unkempt, lizard-huntin’ boys.

Please enjoy the Mandolin Rain video…(seriously, I’m kinda back on the it would make a great name bandwagon!)

things to ponder

Why is it that I can wake up at 6 a.m. with no problems and feel well rested on a Sunday, but come a work day, I feel like I’ve been trampled by an elephant?

Why does my dog bark at the mailman when he’s a block away on a different street? Also, why does my dog have a problem with the neighbors parking in their own driveway?

Why don’t houses come with a ‘self-cleaning’ option?

Why can’t I go to a movie without buying popcorn? It’s ridiculously expensive and stupid to purchase it, yet it tastes so good I can’t resist!

Why did my daddy nickname me Lissa Jane when I was growing up when my middle name is Renee?

Why does the word ‘fart’ make Rader laugh?

How is it I can find 30 4-leaf clovers in fifteen minutes, but I can’t pick a winning lottery number? What the hell kinda crack-job luck is that?

How excited am I that in 3 weeks (exactly 21 days from today) you’ll be able to buy my debut novel BITE ME! off the shelves?

the weekend in review

Thursday: Received my final round of edits from awesome editor and in it, she included a lovely surprise that totally made my day. Read about it here at Ficitonistas. There’s even a picture. (Sorry to disappoint, it’s not porn.) Then I went out with my girlfriends and we celebrated

Friday: Do I remember Friday? Let me think. Oh yes. I got my hair did. The lovely Katie at Fringe Benefits rocked the color and cut as always. But then we had a bit of a snafu and she rallied the troops like the super hero that she is. So here’s what went down. We had my head covered in the lovely coppery red (WHAT? YOU THOUGHT IT WAS NATURAL? see how good she is?) I was rocking the plastic shower cap and texting some friends as I waited. (How did I ever survive getting my hair done without my crackberry?) It was time to rinse when suddenly, there was NO WATER IN THE SALON.

Yes, a water main had busted and I was going to have purple hair. Or no hair. it was not going to be pretty. Katie sprung into action and called some nearby salons but they, too, were affected by the water outage. I joked and said “Maybe we should use the bottled water. Or I could just run home and rinse.”

Next thing I know, one of the salon studs was holding a 5 gallon jug of water over my head as Katie rinsed and washed. Yes, I was rinsed by a $60 bottle of water. And my hair never felt softer.

Also, the color rocks; as does Katie.

After the hairmergency, I had a pretty low key day that ended with dinner with a girlfriend. Or so I thought it ended. It was 11 pm. I was burrowing into the bed when my cell phone rang. I figured it was a wrong number because really, nobody ever calls me that late.

But no. It was my friends K and K. I now call them the Devil’s Handmaidens. Here is the conversation that follows:

The Handmaidens: We’re going to Tunica and you’re coming with us.
Me: Nope. Can’t.
Handmaidens: Yes you can.
Me: Srsly, I can’t. I might could do a nightcap somewhere but no to Tunica.
Handmaidens: Fine, we’re coming to get you. We just wanna go somewhere.

Okay, so they came to get me. And we went out for a drink. And then we, um, took a detour that is a really funny story but one that cannot be told on this blog. Trust me when I say, it was VERY educational. And fun. And funny. Maybe I’ll tell you over a beer sometime.

Then we came back to my house where the Handmaidens stayed until 4 a.m. Not only that, but Handmaiden #1 went out to her car and brought in a box of Corn Pops. Who carries Corn Pops in their car? Just in case? So we snacked on Corn Pops and gossiped until I finally said, “Y’all are either spending the night or going home because this bitch is going to bed.”

I’m too old for late nights like that. (I say this every time I have a late night like that. My friends have way too much energy for me.)

Saturday I chilled in the morning watching Amanda Bynes movies (totally love her) and then went to Birdrunner’s house for the 4th celebration. The kids swam and I hung out with Stinkydog and Hopper and the rest of the fam but I was still so tired from my night out with the Handmaidens that I had to leave before fireworks. I’m not a big firework girl anyway. The only fireworks that really did anything for me was actually this past spring in Daytona when I could watch them from my balcony. That was kinda awesome.

Sunday: I wrestled with dog fur all day until I finally gave up. Yup, that’s about it. Dog fur 1; Mel 0

How was your holiday? Anything fun or exciting happen?