hi! i’m a mac and I’m a PIECE, er PC.

Well, I did it. I took the plunge and switched from my laptop to a MacBook.

I have always considered myself to be “bicomputeral.” I have always enjoyed different aspects of both Macs and PCs. Fishdog is a Mac guy all the way. I’ve always purchased PC laptops for myself because I was most familiar with them since that’s what I’d always worked on when I worked 8-5.

So last year when my old Dell gave me the blue screen of death, I decided to buy a new Dell. I mean, why shouldn’t I? My old one last me 5 years and I never had a problem. Actually, we had it rebuilt and it’s still going strong. (Okay, it’s a little janky, being held together with duct tape, but it is the little PC that could…)

I thought I loved my new Dell. It was pretty. And Vista had it’s pretty little moments…(it really was trying very hard to be a Mac) but I just couldn’t get it to work for me. After a few months, I was ready to chuck it. Seriously. I contemplated going back to XP but honestly, I wasn’t even sure it was worth it because I loathed my computer so much. It would freeze up when I closed it. It would just restart when it felt like it. The 4 hour battery lasted 4 hours ONCE. Then it went to 1 and a half hours. I hated that computer. I can say one thing about the “Mac vs PC” commercials…they are dead on. Apple’s marketing dept deserves a big fat raise. This sums it up perfectly for me:

Today I am typing to you from my brand new refurbed MacBook. It’s a cute little thing. It will take me a little time to learn the ins and outs of it but thankfully I have a Mac Guy in the house with me who has offered personal tutoring sessions.

On a happier note, my momma bought me a new desk for Christmas so now I have a place to work. It’s been pretty damn difficult doing revisions while not having a workspace. (please take note of who has made herself at home in the lower part of the desk)

Oh, and Happy Birthday Party, Feisty! I hope tonight rocks!

not the colbert report

I so enjoyed the “Daily Showesque” video blog by the Daily Show writers the other day and I was hoping that The Colbert Report would follow suit. They have and it is made of awesome.

I stole it from Wil Wheaton again because hey, it’s not everyday you get to steal from Wesley. (That was for you, Maria. Yes, this is the same Wil Wheaton from Star Trek fame…his third book is out, if you wanna support the writer not just the actor…)

I’m tired and a little cranky this morning. I have to finish Bite Me! today before I go shopping for new house stuff. Of course, I just want to shop. But nope. I’m going to power through. I think I have about 10 pages left….

Then I’ll spend the week revising based on Louisa’s and Maria’s comments and get it to my awesome editor by Friday! Whoohoo!

writers supporting writers

The WGA strike sucks…but not for the reasons you think. Sure, there’s a good chance I’m going to through withdrawals over my addiction, but that’s okay. Because I support the strike. They deserve to get paid. Watch this video to understand what the strike is all about.

Speaking of writing…I’m almost there! First draft is [] this close to being done! Whoohoo!

another secret…

It’s that time again. It’s time for me to tell another deep, dark secret.

I’ve shocked y’all before, when I announced my love for Steve from Blue’s Clues…and then, again when I discussed my lust for the young Lucas Black. Not to mention when I outted my secret desire for Marshal Mathers. (Yes, Eminem. I love me some bad boys.) Or that I still liked Air Supply. And I’m sure many of you were surprised to discover my youngest son’s dirty little secret, as well.

But, this secret may out do all of them.

Are you ready to be ashamed of me?

I wanna be Stifler’s Mom.

That’s right. I wanna be a MILF.

It’s true. And it’s unfortunate because it’s ain’t ever gonna happen. I might have a chance to be the cool mom…but I will never be The HOT Mom.

I’m envious of my friend Feisty who is THE hot mom. Actually, she’s THE HAWT mom. I guess I could be her protege and be a MILF in training. I’d have to drop about 4,000 lbs and get the girls lifted, but it could happen.

It’s not that I am into boys that young…I’m not. But I remember growing up, and my friend’s mom was THE hot mom. And all the boys talked about her awesome Farrah Fawcett hair and the sweet convertible and her tight jeans and I thought, “One day, I’m going to be that mom.”

Oh well. I guess not. I will just have to settle with being the mom the boys call when they get into trouble. I’m really okay with that. It’s not a consolation prize by any stretch. But maybe one day, why my boys are in college, one of their friends will confess to me that I was their “Stifler’s Mom.”

do you understand the words that are comin’ outta my mouf?

When I say the words “Please, leave your brother alone. Don’t look at him, speak to him, flip him off, touch him, poke him, or kick him under the table. And please, no more silent “I’m gonna slit your throat” threats.”

Do y’all understand me? Or am I speaking a foreign language? An alien language?

Something must be wrong with me because apparently, my damn kids don’t understand anything I say.

Not. One. Damn. Thing.

Speaking of damn, I’m heading to the Big Dam Bridge to walk it off.

Hasta la vista.

ETA the video. Was running late this morning (due to aforementioned children of the corn) and didn’t have a chance to find…

my duck…

I’m taking a small writing break to share a story.

The Fishdog is a music madman. If it’s out there, he’s heard it. The more obscure, the more likely it is that he’ll not only know the song, he probably has it on his MP3 player.

This has rubbed off on our kids. It’s amazing to see these guys singing songs I didn’t even know they’d heard of. And we’re pretty wide open musically and honestly, there’s very little we don’t let the kids listen to.

But there is this one song on the MP3 player that I’ve forbidden for a while because of the subject…

Of course, you know what happened. Fishdog and I left the kids in the car while we ran back into the house to grab something we’d forgotten. And, as luck would have it, the song came on.

I discretely asked Fishdog if he thought they got the lyrics and understood what the song was about. He just laughed out loud. I mean, it’s hardly a subtle song.

Ian starts asking “What?” and Rader says, “Are you talking about that, My Duck song?”

Oh yeah, My Duck. That’s what the song says.

For those of you who are easily offended (why are you reading my blog?)or are at work without headphones, don’t click this video. Everyone else, please listen and try hard not to sing along saying “My Duck”…

friday, part the 2nd…

I volunteered at the school today and they worked me over like a cheap hooker. Okay, maybe not the best metaphor considering the fact this is a Catholic school, but you get the picture. It was 5 hours of hard labor–without an epidural. Trust me, drugs would’ve helped, tremendously.

I had a good time despite the fact I was wishing for a hit of pain killers. I hung out with a cool Egyptian chick (been in America since ’68 so really she’s more American than Egyptian now…) anyway, Maggie is the mother of 3 beautiful girls. You know, dark skin, dark hair, dark eyes…the kinda girls that will be called “exotic beauties” when they’re older. We had a great time. We spent the day moving and unpacking boxes and laughing at assisting the snooty other moms were also there to “help”.

So, this whole Catholic immersion thing is new to me. A: I’m protestant and a lapsed protestant at that. B: I think organized religion ruins spirituality C: What do you mean Mass doesn’t count except on Saturday’s after 4:00 pm and on Sundays? If it doesn’t count, why the hell are y’all going all the damn time? But I’m hanging in there and being as supportive as I can be for a heathen an uneducated protestant.

Sometimes I worry one of the parents will find my blog and my kids will be kicked out because their mom has had naughty thoughts about Steve from Blue’s Clues (honestly, can they forgive a naughty river?), has posted half nekkid pictures of hot guys, is writing a Vampire YA, and gets pretty hot and bothered when reading MMF. Could you imagine that conversation?

“But she’s in PTO. She can’t be all bad.”
“But she likes reading MMF sex! I bet she liked watching Queer as Folk… (I did. Hot naked guys for 1 hour a week. Duh.)
“She writes about the undead. She’s a sinner.”
“We could convert her…”
“Um. Do we really want to convert her?”
“Good point.”

Of course, this is my overactive imagination working overdrive ( I write fiction, you know?) The school takes our money and welcomes us into their fold. It’s been fabulous there. The kids like it tremendously and I’ve felt very welcome by the people who count. (actually, the majority of the school and administration has been more than welcoming. Just one or two moms have tried their best to make me feel uncomfortable. They didn’t realize I thrive on the challenge..)

Just because I feel like it, here’s one of my favorite scenes from Rush Hour (shut up, I like this movie). It’s not the scene I quote the most… (“Do you hear the words that are comin’ out of my mouf?”) But it is one of my favorite scenes. Enjoy, bitches.

day the last.

Today is the end of an era. I’m leaving the cozy comfort of a steady paycheck and jumping head first into the murky pond of full-time writing.

It’s bittersweet, really. I have been working at the same place for almost 7 years and I’ve been in the corporate world for much longer. Those of you who have worked in Corporate America know that the movie Office Space is unfortunately, very true to life.

I won’t miss that part.

But I will miss my friends and daily human interaction. Starting next week, I’ll have lots of daily interaction with imaginary people…many of whom happen to be vampires. Could be tricky. Especially when the line between imaginary and real begins to blur…

This is the beginning of a dream come true…but in many ways, it’s a scary dream. I have to watch my spending (what???? I’ll be in a city with malls and a Target and I can’t shop???) I’ll have to put myself on a writing schedule (what??? I can’t do the when it feels right I’ll do it method anymore?) and I’ll have to be a single parent for a while until the house sells. Totally weird.

Anyway, to my friends: Don’t forget about me! I’ll miss you!