commercials

If you’ve read my blog for a while, you know I tend to have strong reactions to commercials. Especially bad ones.

I am commercially sensitive. I don’t like the Big Headed King, Levi’s Mannequin, or promiscuous chocolate.

I love the Mac vs. PC commercials, became obsessed with this commercial cuz it choked me up every time it came on. Every single time. I just rewatched it and it choked me up again. I even tracked down the artist and bought the album. (Fantastic album, btw) And then there was Tim Gunn’s “I Love Hats!” commercial. Precious.

Since I tivo a lot now, I miss the commercials. Which is a good thing, except that I’m finding I really MISS the commercials. Some of them, anyway.

I’ve been watching ‘real-time’ tv this week, and have been disappointed in the commercials. Only 1 has treally struck me and that’s this one with Charlize Theron. She’s gorgeous and this commercial is very sexy. But it doesn’t rank anywhere close to the diamond necklace one from last year. Still my fave.

Any good commercials that I’ve missed? I’ve seen the JCP Doghouse commercial online, it was very funny, but it doesn’t count. What else is out there?

happy monday!

It is a happy Monday for me. I slept again last night! Whoohoo!

I’m blogging about rewards over at Fat Chicks Running and I’m blogging about myself over at Fictionistas.

That’s it for today. At least for right now. I’ve got a busy day, so I’ll probably be twittering via my phone here and there, but no more blogging. Of course, you know as well as I do that can change…

Love y’all. Mean it.

happy sunday morning

I actually blogged over at Fat Chicks Running this morning. I don’t often do Sunday blogs, so you better not miss out!

How’s your weekend been so far? Fishdog and I have a party to go to this afternoon and another one on Tuesday. Aren’t we just the social butterflies? I was so tired yesterday after the week of cleaning and Friday night’s throw down, so I just chilled. Went to lunch with some writing friends, ran carpool, went to the gym, came home and had wine for dinner. Oh yeah, it was great. Also watched a few of movies that always make me feel good. 16 Candles, Elf, and The Wedding Planner. I was asleep by 10:00 and am thrilled to announce, I pretty much slept through the night.

Yay me!

Have a happy Sunday, y’all! See ya mañana!

the party’s over–but we have pics!

You know how I know I’m getting old? I can’t seem to sleep past 6:30 a.m. no matter what time I go to bed. Hmph.

So last night, we had a combo birthday-party-slash-reunion-slash-holiday gathering at Chez Francis. Fishdog invited loads of his friends from elementary and high school as well as our regular peeps.

It was a fun night. I was exhausted by the time it was over, and kicked folks out around 1:00. (sorry guys. You were welcome to stay–Fishdog was up for a while, so you could’ve kept him company. but my tired ass was ready for some zzzzzz’s)

Favorite part of the night? Meeting an old friend of Fishdog’s, who is an artist living in Paris, who also reads my blog. He entered the house like a whirling dervish, all energy and smiles. And as soon as Fishdog introduced us, Marcus hugged me and said (exclaimed with gusto), “I read you blog! So when do we get to the boob shots?” Ah yes. the cleavage shots. I love being famous for my ‘Who’s Tits Are These’ pics from conferences and parties. LOL!

You’ll be sad to know, there were no cleavage shots last night. Sorry guys. There were children present. Even I have a small amount of dignity.

Anyway, Marcus is awesome and I wanted to wrap him up and put him under my tree for Christmas. Please Mom? Can I keep him? Please check his website out, he’s a very talented artist and really an amazing guy. Also, he was the only one at the party last night who could claim to have a tall, dark and handsome French boyfriend. (I saw pictures. Trust me when I say tall, dark and handsome.) I wanted to hate him a little for that, but his charm and energy won me over. (And Gabrielle, if you ever get a chance to meet Marcus, I give you permission to play with him, but you do not get to keep him all to yourself. I heart him.) I’m still trying to figure out how I can convince him to let me wrap him up and open him for Christmas…

I think a good time was had by all. Pics below–why don’t you judge for yourself?







Holiday Movies…you gotta fave?

I’m not your typical holiday movie girl. I have never seen Miracle on 34th Street or It’s a Wonderful Life. And guess what? I don’t want to. When I hear people quote “Every time a bell rings an angel gets his wings” a little part of my black heart breaks off and poisons the rest of my system.

So I decided to make a list of my favorite holiday movies. I’d love to hear your favorites. My only request is that you do not spend time trying to convert me to Miracle and Wonderful Life hell. It ain’t gonna happen. The only way I can ever imagine sitting through those movies is if I was kidnapped, tied to a chair with my eyelids forced open, and those movies playing on repeat in front of my face. Even then I might figure out a way to poke my eyes out.

Mel’s Must See Holiday Movie List:

  1. Lethal Weapon
  2. Die Hard 1
  3. Die Hard 2
  4. Sleepless in Seattle
  5. A Christmas Story (though I will admit, I got tired of this one for a while…but I’m back on the bandwagon)
  6. The Year Without a Santa Claus (see video for evidence as to why this is the BEST Christmas movie ever)
  7. Love Actually*
  8. Bridget Jones Diary*

*edited to add. Can’t believe I forgot these two!

There are a few others, but this is the must see list. So, what’s on yours?

finding your way


When I was 18, I wanted to become an actress. I wanted to follow in Meg Ryan’s footsteps and go to NY first and land a role on a Soap Opera, where I could kiss all those hot actors (of course, I would’ve probably been cast as the maid LOL), get famous for being so cute and land a great movie role.

I daydreamed that a lot, but I didn’t go for it because I was too scared. As oppositional as I was (okay, still am) in nature, hearing my mother explain to me in practical terms why it was a bad idea and I would never find the success I was looking for seeped into my brain. I went to college and got a job delivering pizzas instead. (Still one of my favorite all time jobs to this day.)

It took me a long time to find my way to writing. I worked in Daycare for 10 years off and on, thinking one day I would become a teacher. I managed a Bath and Body works for a couple of years, I was a fraud analyst at a telecommunications company where I caught bad guys who cloned phones (this is before digital) I’ve served enough food and drink as a waitress to feed a 3rd world country. We moved to Oxford and I fell into a job doing HR and Travel, and that eventually led me to a job in Accounting. (Yes, accounting. Stop laughing. Seriously. Stop.)

By the time we moved to Oxford, I was writing. I had started 2 books, both that should and will remain unfinished. Very. Bad. Stuff. But writing them gave me the fever. Because of the way I write, I see the books as movies, so I’m kinda getting my acting fix. And I get to daydream all day. Which I’ve always done anyway. Bonus!

This was the first time in my life that I pursued something I wanted to do. On my own–with no real idea if I would be successful. Fishdog would work long hours and I would write after the kids were in bed. I wrote on the weekends a lot. It became a passion. I got better at it. And in 2007 I sold my first book. (BITE ME! hits the shelves Oct. 2009. Don’t forget!)

It took me a long time to find my path. I was 29 years old when I started writing. I have no idea if I should’ve gone to NY and pursued my acting career. Maybe my insecurities then were in place to keep me searching until I could find my confidence and find my path. I’m glad I finally did. If you haven’t found yours yet, the good news is, it’s never too late to start looking.

BTW: The Universe was deep again today:

Melissa, nothing is ever lost. Not time; for what seems to have passed, lives on in the wisdom of future decisions. Not money; for what seems to have been spent, was only invested. And not love; for what seems to have vanished, has only moved so close you must look within your heart to see it.

Here and now, Melissa, whether or not it’s obvious, you are the best you’ve ever been.

So proud,
The Universe

notes from the universe

Every morning I receive a note from The Universe in my inbox. Sometimes they’re funny little quips, other times they’re notes of encouragement, sometimes they’re little reminders that things will get better, but always they’re a positive way to start out my day.

Here’s this morning’s message:

I can imagine that from your perspective, it must seem like some truly awful things happen in time and space. So if you wouldn’t mind, I’d like to weigh in.

Melissa, you live in a world of illusions. A world that springs from a much deeper and far greater reality. And while at times the illusions are indeed ugly, with your physical senses you only see the tip of the iceberg. If you could see the whole, you’d discover that the unpleasantness was only the tiniest piece of a most spectacular puzzle that was created with order, intelligence, and absolute love. You’d see that contrary to appearances, in the grandest scheme of things, nothing is ever lost, no one becomes less, and setbacks are always temporary. And you’d understand that no matter what has happened, everyone lives again, everyone laughs again, and everyone loves again, even more richly than before.

Hubba, hubba –
The Universe

Thought that was worth sharing. Even the Hubba, hubba.

words

My friend Becky aka hellohahanarf posted a link to this site yesterday on her blog. I’ve spent a good deal of time today reading through the cards and marveling at the power of words.

We all know that words can be moving, touching, heart-wrenching, maddening, and powerful. Those of us who are writers, strive to evoke emotion from our readers. We want to touch them (and I’m not even being naughty when I say that). We want to affect them.

I’ll post a few of my favorites from Bone Sigh Arts here. But take some time and go look for yourself. Prepare to be affected.

her beauty
“i look at her and see beauty, and yet, she’s been told she’s not beautiful. I watch her and see love, and yet, she’s been told she’s not lovely. i want to shout to her “you are precious beyond words!” yet i know she can’t hear me. and so i won’t shout. i will just keep believing in her and reminding her. and wait for her to see it, to hear it, and to know it as deeply as i do.”

holding you close
“holding you close, my heart whispered to yours, i”ll help you thru this. i am with you. you are not alone.”

finger tip

“finger tip to finger tip, i long to reach out to you. to put the palm of my hand against your skin. i close my eyes and imagine you here. and i wait for your return.”

Which were your favorites? I’m seeing a few new posters or cards in my future…

just another manic monday


Mondays are always so busy!

I’m over at Fictionistas, talking about the sense of smell.

I’ll be blogging at Fat Chicks Running later today. I went to the gym TWICE this weekend. I know, you’re shocked. So am I. I’m also planning another video blog this week…if I can somehow manage to hide my Cartman chin. I’d also like to change my voice. Am I the only one who hates to hear my recorded self?

This weekend was a bit of a whirlwind. I swear it was just Friday. And now, Christmas is a week away and I’m trying to figure out when it became December. I swear I was just in my bathing suit, allowing the sun to worship me. Honestly, am I the only one who thinks time is flying by at warp speed? (look! Cartman chin is gone! Maybe I should Vlog looking up…)

Time flies when you’re growing old?

Speaking of old: A shout out to my niece Zzer (zeezer–nickname for Elizabeth) who turns 13 today.

Oh and just to give y’all proper notice, Fishdog turns 40 tomorrow. Yes. He’s gonna beat me to the big 4-0. Nothing makes me happier.

It’s a busy week here at Chez Francis. I’ll be writing my fingers to the bone. I have a lofty page goal for the week, I’ll keep you posted on that. Also, we’re supposed to get iced in tonight. Love Arkansas weather. It was 65 degrees yesterday. It’s 33 now.

While I’m at the gym, why don’t y’all tell me about your weekend?