hm. very interesting.

So, I was looking for something to blog about this morning. I’ll admit the blogging fodder has been a little lacking lately. I haven’t been inspired. Mainly because all I want to do is sleep. It’s the changing seasons, I’m sure. The weather is cool, the windows are open, the bed is calling.

I decided to go back and see what I was blogging about this time last year and the year before…you know, to see if my well of inspiration would fill back up. I discovered something about myself during my trip to past blogs…I am a cyclical dieter and exerciser.

Last week I jumped back onto the health wagon. I had done so well in the spring, but over the summer, I let it go. I stopped exercising, stopped eating right, stopped everything.

Guess what? According to my previous October blogs, every year at this time, I start back on program.

You know what else I found out? Remember the spider in my mailbox a few weeks ago? Well in Oxford in 2006, the very same thing happened to me, only it was a black freaking widow. I had blocked that memory until I reread my blog. Sigh.

This makes me wonder…do we just repeat ourselves year in and year out? Is life just one big cycle of events that we relive at different times in our lives? Or do I just blog about the same things because I have no imagination?

What do you think?

tonight

I’m having a very special beverage while I watch the debate:

So, do you think they’ve set the bar so low for Palin that she can’t do anything but succeed tonight? How fast a learner do you think she really is?

We’ll find out soon enough…

More Pics from the Debate!

Sorry I wasn’t around yesterday. I got caught up cleaning and forgot to blog. Oops! Today I am going to a funeral and then spending the day with my mom. We’re supposed to clean out my stuff she’s been storing for me since high school. Hopefully I’ll find all my albums I kept. And by albums, I mean actual LPs not CDs. (unless she accidentally sold those in a garage sale…)

Meanwhile, enjoy some more piccies from Oxford.

Andrea and Me


Rocking the Vote


or Rocking the Debate? You decide.


Howard Dean


The Obama Tent


The Jekabsons


Protesting immigration. So my Mexican-American friend and I sat right in front of him. Heh.


Alternative Energy source


Andrea and Mel at the Democrat Watch Party


During the debate


the debate: my blog–my opinion

First of all, I twittered from the events in Oxford yesterday afternoon. You can go to my LJ blog where I import all my daily tweets and see pics and read commentary. It was an interesting night.

It was rumored that Oprah and the Governator were in town, but I never saw them. I also never saw anyone from the Daily Show or Colbert Report. I am disappointed in myself.

The debate was fun to watch. Overall, I felt like Obama was stronger. (apparently, so did much of America, according to the latest polls) He stayed on point more often than McCain and he actually answered some questions. I felt like McCain worked very hard to avoid answering most questions and also looked frustrated. He didn’t hide his irritation very well, constantly blinking and smirking. At one point, I thought his head might pop off his neck.

It was surprising to me that Obama wiped the Foriegn Policy floor with McCain. (don’t get me wrong, I was thrilled he did, but still very surprised.) I was disappointed in both candidates’ responses to the ‘Safety in America’ question. Neither did a good job with that. I expected more.

Obama hit at home with issues that are close to my heart: Middle class working America; Insurance; the war. He was dead on when he told McCain that if our enemy is Al Qaeda, then why were we focusing on Iraq and not Afghanistan. Al Qaeda wasn’t even in Iraq until we invaded. He was also right to say that McCain is acting like the Surge was the beginning of the war. Um, no. Yay for us! We’ve finally had some success…but the war started a long damn time ago. This is almost too little, too late. Sigh.

I was hopeful that McCain would stick to the issues, and not start spouting off inspirational stories about his awesomeness. However, my hope was crushed when McCain hit the trifecta: He called himself the Maverick, discussed the grieving Mom’s bracelet story, and in the end finally mentioned being a POW. It worries me that he thinks Americans are that sentimental in this time of crisis.

I loved it when Obama said, “I’ve got a bracelet too, John.” Awesome.

Personal rant following:
I find it ironic that McCain wants to keep government out of the insurance industry. Wow. Cuz that worked for the banking industry so well. And it’s also very amusing and not a little bit scary that McCain has no problem with the government regulating what a woman can do with her body. Why can’t extreme right-wingers understand that Pro-Choice is NOT pro-abortion. It’s PRO-CHOICE. It means allowing the individual to choose what is right for her. Pro-Choice means fighting government forced abortions, births, and birth control. Forcing someone to have a baby is just as wrong as forcing someone to have an abortion or forced sterilization. It doesn’t belong in the government. If you are against abortion–don’t have one! But don’t force your beliefs on another person. It’s not your place. It’s not the government’s place. And if you think big government is bad…what the hell do you call government forced births?

Here is a much more articulate opinion about Pro-Choice. Read it. It really does give you lots to think about.

/end Rant

There was no clear winner last night, though in my mind, Obama shined under the pressure. He was composed and gracious. McCain was tense and openly frustrated. If the rest of the debates are like this, there is no doubt who our next President will be.

I can’t wait for the VP Debate…what about you guys?

winners and the weekend…

First of all, CONGRATULATIONS! to Kimmie1111 and MJ!

I used a Random Number Generator (aka Rader) to pick 2 numbers between 1 and 25 and you two are the lucky winners! Shoot me an email through my contact page with your mailing address and I’ll pop the books in the mail to you on Monday!

Now I’m off to Oxford this weekend…but this time, I’m totally stoked! Oxford is hosting the 1st Presidential Debate and I’m going to be there! I have my ticket for the Democratic Watch Party, my friend Andrea has bought me my Obama shirt, and I’m totally going to be stalking Samantha Bee or Rob Riggle if they’re there. (please let them be there, PLEASE!) So watch for me…

I’ll be tweeting from my phone and trying to take lots of pics, so you guys follow me! Also, I’ll try blogging as much as I can. I can’t wait.

GObama!

write less and win!

I write like I read. I hate overdone passages of detail and superfluous words that slow down the pacing and are only put in the text to show how fancy the writer can be.

It’s not my style. When it comes to writing, I’m a minimalist. My biggest strength is dialogue. Truth be told, if I could write a dialogue only book and get away with it, I would. Because frankly, dialogue is where the story is for me.

That doesn’t mean that I don’t read wordy, big books. That means oftentimes I skim multiple passages in those books because frankly, if you can’t tell me in just a few words the exact shade of blue the sky is, then I don’t want to know. And if you bury something important in the middle of a ten sentence paragraph describing the exact shade of blue of the sky, then shame on you.

It could be undiagnosed ADD. I really don’t know, but I honestly don’t have the patience to wade through all that description especially when the only purpose of the paragraph is to prove what a good writer the author is. I just want to read a good story. I want to be engaged in the characters…not in the description of where the character is standing.

So I thought I’d have a little fun today. I have two extra copies of Roxanne St. Claire’s Now You Die (the 3rd book in a trilogy, the 6th book in the Bullet Catcher series). If you want to win a copy, all you have to do is describe yourself, your day, your life, your work…something about you…in 5 words.

Here are some examples:

Two houses, two cities, sucks.

Will be waiting tables soon.

Kids are fun when asleep.

Love/Hate relationship with Pug.

Fishdog makes me laugh alot.

Good friends make it better.

Who’s in? Let’s get our less is more groove on folks!

round up

YA Author John Green has written a blog about Faith and Science as they pertain to the election. It’s a well thought out article that gives readers something to think about. Check it out today.

A follow up to yesterday’s blog: The Obama HQ and the local campaign sign store were both out of signs. I did get my bumper stickers though. I should be able to get yard signs next week, so the plan is still on to get 10 signs and give the jerk who messed with my freedom of speech the proverbial finger.

Kitteh is blogging over at Fictionistas today about sparkly things. Check it out.

I’m headed back to Oxford this weekend. The 1st Presidential Debate of the season will be held there Friday night and I can’t wait. Of course, it bothers me to no end that basically only the media will be allowed to attend the actual debate. The citizens will be watching it via jumbotrons on the square.

How does that make sense? Aren’t debates for the PEOPLE? I think it would be amazing if the media was banished to the jumbotron viewing and the actual citizens were allowed to witness this historic event in person.

I was surprised that Ole Miss was chosen. The historic meaning is monumental since it was just a little over 45 years ago that the University was forced to accept its first African American student. (James Meredith) And now, forty-six years later, we have our first African American Presidential candidate–debating in the same town where US soldiers were deployed to stop the racist rioting.

I was hoping to bring the family with me this time. We have no soccer this weekend and I really feel like this is a great chance for the kids to witness history. Alas, it wasn’t meant to be. Nemo has a cross country meet on Saturday morning. There’s no way we can get him to Oxford for Friday night and back to Little Rock first thing Saturday morning.

Maybe I’ll take Rader with me…