sorry ’bout that


I was down for the count yesterday with a 24 hour bug. Sigh. Fever, hoarking, chills, sleeping. That was my day.

But after 20 hours of shut eye, today I awoke bright-eyed and bushy-tailed. So I took Fishdog and Rader to Party City to shop for our Memorial Weekend Luau.

It’s gonna rock. If you’re in the area, stop by. Seriously. Slip-n-Slides, sprinklers, margaritas, and me in a Sarong. What could be better?

working for the weekend…

The vacay is over.

I’ve taken a part-time job. The good news is, it’s a quiet, laid back company and I’m just answering the phone and doing odds and ends. I was ‘recruited’ by a friend of mine who is the HR director here. He’s been after me since August to come work here full-time, but honestly, I need to keep half of my day available to write. Especially with the boys sports and summer coming. So, I’m working 8-1 Monday-Friday.

Everyone here has been very nice and welcoming. That’s a good thing. Cuz I don’t need no drama.

Ian graduated 8th grade last night and is now on his way to Washington DC for his class trip.

Favorite moment last night? When Rader commented that he wouldn’t be in the choir because singing was just ‘high pitched whispering’.

Least favorite moment? Realizing the little boy who’s bottom once fit in the palm of my hand, will be in high school in just a few months. Sigh. I want my 5lb 6oz treefrog back.

another contest!

Fictionistasare having a contest!

Stop by and read the interview, then leave a comment today for your chance to win Nico Medina’s YA novel Fat Hoochie Prom Queen! Read the blurb – the book sounds like a hoot! Here’ s the blurb:

Margarita “Madge” Diaz is fat, foxy, and fabulous. She loves herself, and is adored by almost everyone else…except queen bee/student- body president Bridget Benson. These two girls have a history that’s uglier than a drag queen after last call. During a heated argument, they decide there’s only one way to end their rivalry: Be named prom queen, and the other backs off. For good.

Of course, everything looks different in the sober light of morning, but pride is at stake and the race is on. Madge is committed to doing whatever it takes to secure the title, but so is Bridget. And everyone’s got something to hide.

Welcome to Winter Park High School, where the dirt’s not just gonna fly…it’s gonna go into freakin’ orbit.

All right, go get commenting!

monkey, will you marry me?


I watched the Bachelor finale last night. I haven’t been a regular watcher this season, it got a little boring after the whole crazy ‘here’s my panties’ thing in the beginning. But I’ve kept up, by flipping back and forth and listening to Maria’s play by plays.

At first, I thought hunky Matt was going to choose Chelsea. She seems like a better fit for him, but after watching Matt and Shayne on their final date, I realized that he was in love with her. He had given her a nickname…and not Chelsea. Once you give them a nickname, you’re stuck. Especially a nickname like Monkey.

It was the sweetest proposal and even though I think Shayne is a little flaky and wee bit crazy, I think they are cute together. Not really convinced it’s gonna last though. (Do they ever really last?)

survivor

Wow. Didn’t see that one coming.

When Amanda won immunity, in my mind, it was over. She was hands down the winner. She was the one person who betrayed the fewest people.

So imagine my surprise when Parvati won. Not that I don’t like Parvati, I do. But honestly, I didn’t expect her to win. She was the player to take to the finals because when you stacked her up against Amanda or Cirie, she was the obvious loser.

Color me surprised.

Fans vs. Favorites was the best season ever. Great players. Fantastic twists. And a love affair to die for. When Ozzy professed his love for Amanda, I melted. “I am angry because you [Parvati] took away 14 more days I could’ve spent with Amanda.”

Wow.

And they’re still together. Maybe we’ll have another Survivor wedding…

Let me also add, no matter how brilliant Erik’s blindside was last week, he is still my favorite player ever. He even beats out Yau Man and Rupert. I love me some Leif Garret Erik. My sweet little ice cream scooper.

happy momma’s day

For Mother’s Day, I plan to continue cleaning my house then watch the Season Finale of Survivor in peace. I may make the family watch it with me. Rader likes Survivor, so he’ll watch. Either way, that’s what I want.

I took a quiz this morning to find out who my inner rock chick is. Heh.


You Are Ani Difranco!


Honest, real, and well liked.

You’re not limited by any boundaries.

“And you can call me crazy

But I think you’re as lazy as white paint on the wall”

Who’s yours?

Ian had confirmation last night. We were almost blown away by a tornado, but we survived. I have no idea if the sirens went off–the church was quite loud. It was a bilingual service and we had 65 kids to confirm, so it was a very long service. Thankfully, it wasn’t the 3 hours we were told it would be. I think they told us to prepare for 3 hours so that when the service was ‘only’ 2 hours long, we’d be grateful.

I’ll post pictures when I can find my camera cord. Sigh.

and the winner(s) is (are)

I’m sorry I haven’t been around for a couple of days. I swear, I had intended to post the winners earlier this week, but I got swallowed up in a time-warp-bubble.

Last week, I ran a lolcat caption contest because my damn cat got stuck in the drywall. If you haven’t read the story, read it here.

Okay, so we have a couple of winners. First of all, this one made me laugh out loud until I snorted. yes. I snort. What do you care?

Of course, it was my husband’s entry, therefore it doesn’t count. However, I had to give him kudos because it was awesome.

Fishdog, you win my heart. How’s that?

We have 2 REAL winners. ArkansasCyndi also made me snort with her entry. I must have a thing for insulation.

And Cholsted’s 6 year old daughter won me over with her comment.

Cyndi and Cholsted, email me at oatmellow@gmail.com and I’ll get your prizes to you!

I enjoyed all the entries, but I had to pick the winners based on my laugh-o-meter. (okay, and the whole 6 year old thing got me.) I enjoyed this so much, I think we’ll have another contest soon…

dirty little secret #4? or is #5?

I pretend this song was written for me:

Chorus: Low by Flo Rida

Shawty had them Apple Bottom Jeans [Jeans]
Boots with the fur [With the fur]
The whole club was lookin at her
She hit the flo [She hit the flo]
Next thing you know
Shawty got low low low low low low low low

Them baggy sweat pants
And the Reeboks with the straps [With the straps]
She turned around and gave that big booty a smack [Ayy]
She hit the flo [She hit the flo]
Next thing you know
Shawty got low low low low low low low low

I will also admit to giving my ‘big booty a smack’ when this song was played at the club in Boston.

Oh. And I got low, low, low, low, low, low, low, low.

superstar!

Ian has been running track this year. First year to give it a go, and he seems smitten with it.

His last track meet was last week. He did the long jump, shot, and the 100 meter dash. He was supposed to run in the 200 meter, but he hurt his leg in the long jump, so he scratched.

Here are some piccies:


evidence of a wicked awesome time

The evening started off a little tame. Here I am getting my books signed by Marley. Aren’t we cute?

I finally met blog-friend Kwana.

Mel and Lulu

Marley and I cozied up for a while.
Then I cozied up to Maria.
Lulu and Elaine boogied.
Kristen, Lulu and Maria: probably talking about something naughty.

Kwana being her cute self.Maureen, Maria and Kristen. DEFINITELY talking about something naughty.
Marley and Diana Peterfreund.
Kristen, Fruit Loin and Louisa: Dirty Dancing 3: Boston Nights.


Who’s tits are these? (a game we often play here at Mel-O-Drama
Shoe Orgy
Told ya they were being dirty…
Further evidence of naughtiness
Kwana and Maureen. Not being naughty AT ALL.

This is how the group looked at 3:00 am
The “After” after party started out at an Irish Pub…where we saw this wicked awesome ass. Kristen and I called him over to the table to tell him he had a wicked awesome ass and to ask if we could see his abs. (Isn’t he just too damn cute?)
He obliged…but Kristen elbowed me so the piccie is blurry. Trust me when I tell you the abs matched the ass

Best part of Boston? When a 28 year old co-worker of Marley’s asked who that “hot blonde” was. Marley said, “Oh Kristen.” (naturally) and he said, “No. The one behind her. With the glasses.”

That would be ME.

Oh yeah. My life is complete. I can die happy.

More tomorrow….