Patrick Swayze was one of my favorite actors. Dirty Dancing is my all-time favorite movie (stop judging me!) I’m so sad he’s gone.
weekend recap
Nashville was fantastic! I haven’t downloaded my pics yet, but I will this week. It was so great to visit with Grant and his family and meet his girlfriend (who I liked tremendously). Despite my raging tiredness, I had a great time.
We had dinner at a steakhouse called The Stockyard. It was fantastic, but don’t go there unless you’re willing to spend a minimum of $50/person. Seriously.
Nashville is about a 4.5 hour drive from Little Rock (depending on traffic) but when you drive to and from in 24 hours, it can be a little grueling, so I spent Sunday trying to recover. I did that by hanging out with YA Author Stacey Jay and her little munchkins Sunday morning, then watching soccer in the rain Sunday afternoon. I know all my British friends think that’s how football soccer is supposed to be played, but trust me, I’m not that girl. Not as a spectator anyway. Now when I was actually playing sports, I loved playing in the rain. But it’s not fun as a fan.
Even though this wasn’t a holiday weekend, it felt like it. But today I’m well rested and ready to take on the world.
Anything good, bad, or ugly happen to you this weekend? Wanna share?
PS: GOSSIP GIRL RETURNS TONIGHT! YIPPEEE.
Mel+Chuck Bass=2gether 4ever
my wee scottish lad

The summer of 2006, we hosted a couple of soccer coaches from the UK for the first time (Grant and Simon). We fell smack in love with these kids and have stayed in touch with them over the years.
Grant still lives in the states–he works for Challenger Sports as a Regional Director out of Cincinnati. We saw him last summer when he was still traveling as a coach, but we haven’t had the pleasure so far this year.
But we will tonight. His mum and pop are visiting from Scotland and we’re all meeting in Nashville, which is about 4 hours or so from both of us. We’ll just be there one night, but it will be one very fun night, I promise.
Here are the posts from the first time I met Grant’s parents:
Will post pics Monday! Y’all have a great weekend. And please take some time today to remember those we lost 8 years ago.
don’t get between this boy and his bacon
If you’re reading this on FB, click here to see the video. It’s worth it.
This is one of the funniest things I’ve seen in a long, damn time.
Best quote: “She acts like she’s the queen and we’re the sorry people.”
Next best quote: “No! I keep losing at deals and I ain’t making them anymore!”
okay and honestly, how could you not love a boy who says: “She’s gonna try to stop me, but she can’t run in those high heels.”
I heart this kid and want him as my own. C’mon son, you can have bacon at my house any time.
search me!
It’s been a while since I’ve done a stat blog. It’s amazing what terms people search for that lead them here.
BTW: we do not discriminate here at Mel-O-Drama. No matter how weird your search terms are, no matter how perverted you may be, you’re welcome here as long as you play well with others. Just be warned, your search terms are totally fair game as a blog topic.
As usual, CNBC’s Melissa Francis’s legs & Naked Melissa Francis have been a hot item. (BTW, she emailed me one day this past summer saying she’s happy to mooch off my attention and maybe I could post some photoshopped pics of her head on Meghan Fox’s body. I promised to do so if she she would get me some face time on her show to pimp my book…I’m still waiting for my invite. LOL)
There’s been a lot of BITE ME! and LOVE SUCKS! activity, for which I thank you. (LOVE SUCKS! will be out July 2010) BITE ME! is still on the shelves so get out there and buy your (minimum) 2 copies!
I’ve had some Shirley Q. Liquor searches. People love her Razorback fight song!
Lots of piercing, tattoo, and cleavage searches.
And then come the weird ones:
- Teach my ass Melissa (srsly, is this from some kind of porn? I’ve got to find it, because I’m still getting multiple hits a week for that)
- Bunco MILF (Maria, this could be a new genre! Erotic Bunco Babes!) Also in the MILF dept: My son’s friends MILF, seducing a MILF, MILF Melissa (thanks!) & bitchin’ MILF
- Superhero having a shag (This is one of my faves and I’m now contemplating a new blog just for that)
- Reptile Sex (Sadly, I did blog about this once)
- Spy Voyeurs
and my personal favorite of all of them:
- GIRLS HUMPING THEIR PILLOWS PICS OR STORIES (this one is from Auckland New Zealand…Nolen, is that you?)
Now, once folks find their way to my blog, they sometimes use my search bar to find specific subjects that I’ve blogged about. Here’s the most recent list
- DENTON MCDONALD: someone is very interested in my high school boyfriend. Denton, you’re getting searched from all over the states. Are you in some kind of trouble, my dear?
- DAVID: well, I’ve discussed David Beckham, David Blaine, & Harry and David cherries. Were you looking for someone in particular?
- Tom Keifer: Ahhhh. someone else loves Cinderella just like me
- Scooby Doo Blanket: I was totally cute wrapped up in that blanket. It was cold that day!
and finally…the cherry on top of all the searches:
- spider biting vagina
Excuse me? I trust you did NOT find what you were looking for when you searched my blog? *shudder*
ooooh that smell! can’t you smell that smell?
Just for funsies, here is a list of fragrances and flavors that I really don’t like:
- Amaretto: this stems from a bad experience in college. Amaretto sours should be banned from existence.
- Hazelnut: Never have been a fan of the flavor or the fragrance; not really sure why. I will tell you that there is a holiday potpurri that is hazelnut fragranced and it makes my stomach turn. *shudder*
- Plumeria fragrance from Bath and Body Works: This stems from when I was a store manager back in the 90s. I was used to the overwhelming scent of all the blended fragrances in the store. Then I got pregnant. Overall, the fragrances didn’t bother me, until one day these two women came into the store and tried every damn plumeria scented product. Even the air freshner. I had to excuse myself and go throw up.
- The perfume Tresor: When I was in my early 20s, I worked in a very small office for a local auctioneer. It was me and one other lady. Everyday, Judy would come in smelling like she had showered in Tresor. The 1st thing she would do when she sat down was pull out her Tresor scented lotion and lather up. She did the same thing after lunch. I asked her nicely one day to please stop using the lotion and she got very angry with me and told me to deal with it. I did–I quit the next day. I had a friend who used to wear Tresor and I had to ask her not to on the days we hung out together.
- Nut flavored beers: I love a good stout, a yummy pale ale or IPA but if it’s nut flavored it makes my tongue curl. And it gives me a headache.
- Catfish: Yes, it’s true. I’m the only southern girl in the world who doesn’t like catfish.
- Venison: I know many of you are reading this and saying to themselves: “You just think you don’t like venison because you ain’t never had it fixed right for ya.” I can assure you, you’re not the only person to say that. Even my grandmother tried to fool me once. Trust me–I don’t like it.
- The air freshener fragrance they use at the West Little Rock Bed, Bath, and Beyond: Holy crap it smells like a blend of medicine and Plumeria. I have to breathe through my shirt when I’m in that store…which is why I no longer shop there.
Is there anything you’re really sensitive to?
an overreaction of Presidential proportions part 2
I’m discussing this over at Fictionistas as well–the fact that some schools and parents aren’t allowing their children to hear the president’s scheduled speech for the schools. Mostly I’m talking about how parents should trust that they aren’t raising sheep that are so easily swayed (I mean, ‘indoctrinated’) by one speech.
But at this blog? I’m gonna get a little pissy.
Both Reagan and Bush, Sr. addressed the schools in 1986 and in 1991 and nobody said a word. I mean, both of these presidents had questionable happenings at the time (Iran-Contra, anyone? First Gulf War, ring a bell?) and yet people welcomed the chance for their children to hear from their Nation’s Leader.
So why is Obama’s speech different? What on earth are are people afraid of? Are you worried your child might develop some individuality? Maybe have an independent thought? Yes, it’s definitely best that you keep your kid home then. Would hate for the next generation to grow up and think for themselves.
Seriously, the kids are going to sleep during the address. And if they do listen to the president? Good for them. What is so wrong with any message he’s going to give? If you work hard and stay in school, you too, could be president.
Yeah. That’s definitely a message I don’t want my kids hearing. Screw that. No way in hell do I want my kids to grow up and be president. Maybe I’ll keep my kid home, too. What a great idea.
What I find amusing is that if Bush, Jr. would’ve addressed the nation’s schools, and I would’ve refused to allow my kid to listen (wh/ I would never do because it goes against everything I believe in) but if that had happened, I would’ve been called a communist. Or asked why don’t I love my country?
Politics has nothing to do with this, so why are people making it political? He’s our president and it’s an honor for our kids to get a chance to hear him. They don’t know that yet, but it’s true. And this is the perfect opportunity for schools to teach about our nation’s government and for parents to discuss what he talks about with their kids. And if parents don’t agree with his message, then they can discuss why. But to not allow the kids to hear it because it may be something they disagree with is downright small minded. And extremist.
Now for a very funny take on this subject: Hitler finds out Obama will address school children
a screw, a stud, a bone, a nose and a pair of gloves
It’s been a little over 2 years since I got my nose pierced. So if you can do the math, I was 38 years old–wh/ is a little older than your average nose piercer…I’ve never once regretted the decision and honestly, I wish I hadn’t waited so long.
Kinda the way I feel about my tattoo…though I will say, I love my tattoo so much because it is THE RIGHT tattoo for me. If I had gotten one in my 20s, it probably would’ve been a fad tattoo and not one that reflected who I am as a person. (I remember wanting a parrot on the outside of my thigh during my Jimmy Buffett days. I mean, really? A parrot?)
Anyway, I tell you all this to lead up to a pretty funny story. Or at least, it’s funny to me.
After my nose piercing, I was told to be careful when using washcloths or towels on my face because the threads can yank out the jewelry. And at the time, that would’ve been very painful because I used the screw and not the bone. (could that sound more sexual?) I much prefer the bone now. (again! so sexual! this is a family blog! *cough*)
ANYWAY
I never really encountered any problems with the piercing except that when I was using the screw, I could see it in my nostril when I looked in the rearview mirror and then all I wanted to do was pick it. And seriously, nobody wants to see me picking my nose in the car.
Fast forward to Wednesday morning. I’m in the shower, belting out some Lady GaGa and exfoliating. I use exfoliating gloves religiously–nothing works better in the world. After I wash
my hair I don the gloves and work from my face down. I’m always careful not to get too close to the jewelry as I scrub my face. I mean, it’s been two years and I’ve had no problems so far, right?
Well, apparently I haven’t sneezed while exfoliating my face in two years…
So I sneeze. And my hands instinctively go to my nose. And when I pull back, the gloves yank out my nose stud.
First of all, ouch. It wasn’t real painful (if it had been the screw, it would’ve hurt like hell. Nobody likes a painful screw ) but it definitely stung.
Secondly, I’m blind as a freaking bat. I’m in the shower, with soap on my face, no glasses or contacts, and I hear the tink, tink, tink of my little diamond stud bouncing in the shower.
And down the drain.
It had to have gone down the drain because I haven’t found it yet.
Thankfully I have a couple of spares (I know myself too well. It’s always best to buy two of everything when you’re me) So after my shower I just popped in the micro-stud and carried on.
I’m ordering a new diamond today along with a new belly-button ring. It’s time for a change there, too–thankfully it didn’t take me ripping it out of my navel to realize that.
mish and mash
This will just be a mishmash of news, updates, and whatever else I decide to tell y’all.
For the Mish part:
BITE ME! has gone into a 3rd printing….just a month into its release! I’m totally stoked about this. Now, has everyone out there bought their minimum of two copies yet? Remember, it’s a rule:
Her debut novel titled Bite Me! is
scheduled to hit the shelves Fall 2009on the shelves now and she totally expects everyone who has met her, talked to her, emailed her, or uttered her name to buy at least two copies.
LOVE SUCKS! has an official release date….July 27, 2010! (almost exactly a year to the date from BITE ME!) I should also have a cover soon, which I’m very excited about.
I started working on 2 new projects this week and I have a 3rd project waiting in the wings. It feels really good to be working on something new again!
And now for Mash (not to be confused for M*A*S*H):
Rader (not to be confused for RadAr from M*A*S*H not Mash) has joined the chess club. He came home last week and informed me he was either going to try out for Archery or Chess…and Chess won the battle.
Ian has already had a ‘bad’ haircut, which was actually a great haircut but he said it was too ‘Emo’ (not to be confused with Emo Phillips. One has nothing to do with the other) and we had to get it fixed. So my awesome Katie fixed him right up. Ian is now no longer ‘Emo.’ (apparently I like Emo. Go figure)
My Thurz Girls are saying goodbye to one of our favorite waiters tonight Paolo and his family are headed back home. It’s a sad day here in the Rock.
I don’t know what I’m going to wear to work today. Must get on that.
Any mish or mash you’d like to add?
whew. it’s gettin hot up in here
Yesterday was a big day for releases! Kitteh’s (aka Kristen Painter) book ALL FIRED UP officially hit the virtual shelf yesterday. Pop over to Samhain and download a copy. It’s about Vikings for crispy’s sake! Surely if you read this blog, you’re a fan of Vikings. (okay, and if you watch True Blood, how can you NOT be a fan of Vikings?) Don’t do E-books? p-shaw! It’s time for you to join to catch up with the rest of the world and step into your future….If Roxanne St. Claire can do it, you can. Right, Rocki?
Another hot item is my pal Louisa Edwards’ book CAN’T STAND THE HEAT. Now I was lucky enough to get to read this book as it was being written and I can’t wait to reread it now that it’s a done deal! A hot, temperamental Chef; a fiery, temperamental food critic; sexy kitchen scenes…Oh yeah. And let’s not forget Frankie….Who’s Frankie? Read the book to find out!
(blogger won’t allow me to post pics right now, so y’all just need to go buy the books and see the great covers for yourselves)
And for today’s bit of trivia…I was emailing a friend from high school who lives in New Zealand yesterday and he made a comment that he was having a “flat white trim.”
Since I had never heard that before, I decided that meant “Skinny white chick with no boobs.” Apparently not. It’s a double shot latte with less foam in the milk. Hmmm. I think I like my idea better…
Now if you were on a menu, what would you be called?
