*really big yawn*

First of all, it’s Monday, so as usual, I’m over at Fictionistas talking about cleaning off my desk this weekend. With pictures. (No…not the French Maid pictures. Those I’m saving for a very special occasion. Sorry…)

This was such a good, low key weekend. Rader had soccer on Saturday, which was slightly miserable. Being naked and covered in BBQ sauce standing in front of a group of hungry cannibals would’ve been only slightly worse. (see? silver lining) It was cold, rainy, and windy. But a trip to Beef O’Brady’s for lunch and a nice Guinness and bowl of potato soup warmed me right up.

And so did the Guinness induced nap Saturday afternoon.

I caught up on some Tivo’d shows, did some cleaning, and hung out with the kids. Yesterday afternoon, while Fishdog was at his soccer game and the boys were downstairs, I decided to watch a movie. You know, one of those romantic ones that I have to watch alone because noboy here in the house of penis will watch it with me?

I picked the wrong movie. Sigh.

I don’t like Nicholas Sparks novels. I take that back, I like 1 Sparks novel…The Rescue. It was the only one that ended with an acceptable HEA. The rest are tragic endings, the hero and heroine are inches away from getting their Happily Ever After and Sparks reaches down and yanks the rug out from under them.

Having said that, I really like a couple of the movies based on Sparks’ novels. I love The Notebook. (HATED THE BOOK WITH A PASSION. Threw it against the wall when I was finished) Even as tragic as it is, I love watching Message in a Bottle because the love story is strong. (as an aside I couldn’t stand A Walk to Remember in either book or movie form. Another wallbanger)

Since I’m a Diane Lane and Richard Gere fan and since I’m a sucker for anything on a beach (except for that awful movie Beaches) I wrestled with my love/hate relationship with Sparks and watched Nights in Rondanthe.

Ugh.

I didn’t buy the love story over all. Maybe I wasn’t feeling the lurve yesterday, I dunno. Usually I’m a sucker for all that love stuff, but yesterday I was a tough critc. By the time I started to actually root for the two of them, Sparks yanked the rug out.

Seriously, it wasn’t even unexpected. Which just made me even more mad at myself for watching it. All I wanted was a little love-feel good and all I got was sour grapes.

I hate it when that happens.

Did y’all do anything fun this weekend? Watch any good movies that you can recommend?

star trek the MILF generation

I’m thinking I’d look awesome in this for Halloween. Or on days that end with a ‘y.’ Whatever. And if I meet my weightloss goal this year, I’m gonna buy this baby. I promise I’ll wear it until it falls apart. Y’all will be so sick of seeing me in it, you’ll be asking me to put on a real shirt.

What do you think? Is it (the future) me?

I woke up again!

I tried another NEW THING AT THE GYM yesterday and again, I didn’t die in my sleep! This is becoming a habit I think.

I blogged about my ZUMBA experience over at Fat Chicks Running so don’t forget to pop over and read all about it.

What’s on your agenda today? During my cleaning frenzy last weekend, I never did make it to my living room/desk area. I’m considering tackling that today. And taxes. I have to tackle taxes. Both things I don’t want to do but both things HAVE to be done. So, I’m thinking both of those things are priority numero uno.

This weekend we have our first all day soccer tournament. Of course, it was 70 degrees here two days ago, tomorrow is supposed to be 51. WTF? I mean, dude, I do NOT want to sit outside and watch these games like a granny with an afghan on my lap. I suppose I could take my Scooby Doo Blanket and wear my skull cap, huh?

Today is supposed to be pretty and in the 60s. I am suffering from spring fever so bad! I will definitely get outside and run today.

Oh and in Harriet the Head news, I think she’s having an affair with Grim now. He came by for a visit last night and flirted with Harriet all night. I mean, who knew? It was annoying after a while, so I finally took some benadryl to force Harriet to shut up and go to sleep.

Have a good weekend y’all!

I didn’t die in my sleep

But the Grim Reaper did come for a visit. He’s really quite pleasant, for a bony, ashy, stinky, soul-stealing void of a death kisser.

I really thought I might die last night. You see, I tried a NEW THING AT THE GYM because I need to change up my workouts. I have a goal to meet. My birthday is in 1 month, I want to lose another 12 lbs by then. So I’ve met with Cute Little Trainer Boy for some tips and he advised me to try this NEW THING AT THE GYM.

POWERHOUSE 90

It’s a class. If you’ll click the link above, you’ll see exactly how well I did in yesterday’s class. Here’s a hint:
Needless to say, It’s going to take a lot more classes, and a lot more humiliation before I can call myself the master of the Powerhouse 90 Arm Class.

Anyway, back to my new BFF–Grim. See, after class, I came home and collapsed. I had some Advil for dinner, washed it down with 1.5 liters of water (I’m not joking. My bladder wished I was joking when I got up to pee 14 million times last night) and I ate a banana.

I went to bed a little before 10:30. Jon Stewart was still on TV, totally railing on some dude and I wanted to watch but my body told me it was time to die. So I gave in. It was my time.

That’s when Grim came to visit. He said I was a good little girl to drink all my water and take my Advil and eat that banana. And because I had done those very smart things, he would let me live.

My head told him it was okay to take our soul, we had the Bird Flu and were gonna die soon anyway. I told Head to put a sock in it. Head said she would if I started to call her Harriet like she asked. I don’t understand my head at all.

Grim was very sweet. He rubbed my back while I fell asleep. I asked him if that was some super sekrit soul-stealing technique but he swore it wasn’t. He swore that if I stole his soul, I would know it.

As I drifted off, Grim asked if I planned to do another class. I mumbled something like “Probably,” and Harriet the Head screamed bloody murder. Grim said I might want to take it easy because if I did too many classes, then one night, he might have to pay me a real death-kiss visit.

I might have to take that under advisement.

Conversations in Mel’s head

Y’all wanna know what it’s like to be me? Here’s some snippets of conversationsI had with myself yesterday.

I apologize in advance.

Head: I hurt and am filling up with snot.
Me: I know.
Head: What are you going to do about it?
Me: I don’t know. Take a Claritin and hope it’s all better tomorrow.
Head: You’re not going to the gym, right?
Me: Wrong.
Head: Dammit, I don’t wanna go spreading my germs everywhere.
Me: We washes the equipment after we uses it, precious. Besides, maybe Evil Barbie Hair Girl is there and we can sneezes on her and gives her the Bird Flu.
Head: Sounds promising. But we don’t have the Bird Flu.
Me: But maybe we will.
Head: *rolling eyes*
Me: I saw that.

At the gym:

Head: There’s Evil Barbie Hair Girl, go sneeze on her.
Me: It would be wasted, we don’t have the Bird Flu. I can tell.
Head: But, if it’s a good juicy sneeze, I bet you’ll lose another pound.
Me: Good call.
*ACHOO*

This morning on the scale:
Me: You lied.
Head: It was a theory that we disproved.
Me: Shut up, McScientist.

Last night I twittered:

[Mel]<— haz a worry! *gasp* trying to think of a blog topic for tomorrow and is afeared she may be out of funny!

Here was the conversation that followed:

Head: Really? Really? You think you’re out of funny.
Me: Maybe. I just don’t feel funny.
Head: That’s the Bird Flu talking.
Me: We don’t have the Bird Flu.
Head: I think maybe we’re developing it.
Me: I think we’re developing Multiple-Personality-Disorder. Maybe I should give you a name instead of just calling you head.
Head: I like the name Harriet.
Me: I’m not calling you Harriet.
Head: It was just a suggestion. Besides, shouldn’t I get to name myself.
Me: No. You’re my head, I get to name you. I always liked the name Zoe.
Head: lalalalalalalalalalalala I can’t hear you.
Me: Let me try this out. Shut up, Zoe.
Head: I’m only responding to Head or Harriet. Lalalalalalalalalalalalalala
Me: Hm. Zoe isn’t working for me. Kalliope? No, too complicated. Maybe I should call you Einstein since you’ve been so good at testing theories lately.
Head: I could compromise and go for Madame Curie.
Me: Okay, Madame Curie. You’ve got a deal.
Head: Maybe just call me Madam.
Me: Maybe I should go to bed.
Head: Maybe you’re right. Take some benadryl first.
Me: Goodnight, Madam.
Head: Goodnight, Nutjob.
Me: I’m going to let that slide because we have the Bird Flu.
Head: Thanks.

what to wear

I have to go to work today. I don’t mind it, I like the people I work with a lot and I like job. I LOVE the hours. Seriously, I work Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday 8-3. Oh yeah. My work week was made directly from the recipe of awesome.

Eventually the job will go full time and I’ll have a decision to make. I know I’ll take the job if it’s offered, it’s a great company that pays well, and has amazing benefits. Plus, I truly like my department, which is fabulous. I don’t dread going to work at all.

But today, I dread wearing real clothes. I miss being able to work in my PJ pants or my exercise clothes. No, I don’t wanna do it everyday (that got a little old) but damn, it’s cold and rainy today and I just want to put on my black yoga pants, my hot pink tank top, a sweatshirt and running shoes and report for duty.

I’m thinking that would be pushing even the most lenient of ‘business casual’ dress codes.

But really, it would even be more convenient for me since I’m going to the gym this afternoon. I could just hop in the car and drive straight there.

It’s a scrubby kind of day, but I’ll be looking cute. (duh.) Of course, that means I have to figure out what I want to wear now…

What’s on your agenda for today? Are you going get to be scrubby?

Oh, and I’m back at FCR today, talking about breaking through my plateau, my next reward CD, and my upcoming race.

I’m still alive–but

But the house isn’t finished. I swear, next time I go on strike, I’m going to prepare and freeze 2 months of meals in advance and hire a weekly housekeeper. (of course, I hope by ‘next time’ I’ll already have a housekeeper coming every other week…) I live in a frat house with animals.

So today’s goal is the living room, finish the laundry, mop all the floors, and organize my bedroom closet.

Part of the organizing is going to entail getting rid of shoes I don’t wear, as well as all the clothes I’ve ‘undergrown’ (because I’m not going back).

I’m also going to the gym today…I registered for my March 15 race this morning, so I have to make sure I’m going to be able to actually run that bitch. YAY ME!

I posted some pics on Ficitonistas from Saturday’s day with the boys at the races. Pop over and see them! I’m also going to be over at FCR today sometime. It’s Monday, so I’m making the rounds!

if you don’t hear from me…

It’s because the dustbunnies, filth, grime, mold, and other assorted nasties that have taken over my house have kidnapped me. If they request a ransom, don’t give in! Just take over the cleaning. Eventually, they’ll let me go.

Today is not the day of rest around these parts. At least not for me. Hopefully I’ll return tomorrow with a clean house and a clean fresh state of mind.

Happy Valentine’s Day or whatever

funny pictures of cats with captions

This year, we’re ‘celebrating’ the day of love at Oaklawn. (Which, of course, makes Mel a happy girl) We’re doing this as a family, which is nice. I had to do a little bit of arm twisting to get Fishdog to reschedule soccer so that we could all go, but I guess my two weeks of, “That’s fine, y’all play soccer, I’ll be at the races. BY MYSELF. ALL ALONE. ON THE COMMERCIAL DAY OF LOVE.” finally worked. (sometimes the only offense is a good passive-aggressive defense. I’m not proud…)

We’re going with several other families that we enjoy hanging with. I’m really looking forward to it. I love the horse races, and I’m really can’t wait to spend the day with the boys. We just don’t do enough as a family. And now that soccer season is back in full swing, we’ll be doing a lot of dividing and conquering over the next few months. So this is our last chance.

If you celebrate V-Day, I hope you enjoy. If you don’t, then have a great Saturday.

Either way, enjoy this laugh out loud Mad TV V-Day skit. (if you’re viewing this from my Facebook notes page, you’ll have to click through to my website to actually view the video)